Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
African Americans --Languages
Black Culture
Black English
Black English Dialect
Ebonics English Language -- Study & Teaching -- African American Students
Urban Dialects
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check
the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your
searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject
headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Black Studies on Disc (Via Citrix) - Includes relevant cultural, historical and linguistic information.
- Education Full Text (Wilson Web) - Identifies articles and books on all education topics. Note: Check the Education Full Text box at the top of the page before searching.
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLA) - First stop for literary criticism and analysis of novels, short stories, poems, etc.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait