Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Assisted suicide
Euthanasia
Mercy killing
Right to die
Right to life
Euthanasia
Mercy killing
Right to die
Right to life
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines) - brief description
- Alt-Health Watch (via EBSCO) - Identifies articles in complementary and alternative medicine.
- America: History & Life - Has citations and sometimes full-text of historical articles.
- EBSCO Health Source - Provides basic coverage of literature in journal articles, pamphlets, and health reference books.
- LegalTrac - Identifies articles in all major law reviews, specialty law journals, and bar association journals.
- MD Consult - Identifies articles on clinical information from journals and clinics, medical reference books, clinical practice guidelines, and drug information for over 22,000 medications.
- PubMed - Identifies articles in basic and clinical biomedical research, psychology and other allied health fields.
- Sociological Abstracts - Includes the full-text to articles, papers, book chapters, and dissertations in the sociology and related disciplines.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Includes articles on political science, law and associated fields.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait