On This Page
This page contains a sampling of materials to help get you started. Please be sure to visit the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library's Historical Newspapers Online page for an extensive list.
Viewer Scanners
In addition to the traditional microfilm viewer printers, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library owns two ScanPro 1000 and four ST 200 digital microform viewer-scanners. With these devices, you can convert microfilm and microfiche to PDF files that can be easily saved to a USB drive, printed, or emailed free of charge.
Take a look at our Microforms guide for more info.
Newspapers on Microfilm
UIUC Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. In addition to the Online Catalog, historical newspaper titles on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. This database features searching by place and date of publication. Please consult our Microforms Guide for more help.
Newspaper titles may also be included within microfilm collections, such as:
Underground Press Collection
1963-1985 (FILM 071.3 Un3)
Periodicals by and about American Indians
1923-1981 (FILM 973.049705 P418)
Early English Newspapers
(FILM 072 EA76)
Newspapers from the Russian Revolutionary Era
(FILM 057.1 NE)
These sets are accompanied by print guides and are all available in the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library
Major Historical Metropolitan Dailies Online
These titles contain digital facsimiles of the original newsprint and are keyword searchable.
- Historical New York Times

(1851- 2004) - Historical Wall Street Journal

(1889-1990) - Historical Chicago Tribune

(1849-1986) - Historical Chicago Defender

(1905-1975) - Historical Los Angeles Times

(1881-1986) - Historical Washington Post

(1877-1991) - Historical Atlanta Daily World

(1931–2003) - Historical Los Angeles Sentinel

(1934–2005)
Historical Newspapers Online
There are many projects underway to digitize historic U.S. and foreign newspapers, and over the next decade, these resources will become available over the web. For the present, we have access to some major historical newspapers online, as well as many smaller newspapers in online collections.
Below, we have listed some of the most popular resources to help get you started.
An extensive list of digitized historical newspapers is available on the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library's Historical Newspapers Online page.
Historical Newspaper Collections Online
Many newspapers are embedded in larger collections of online resources or in microfilm collections. Examples of “aggregated” online databases include:
- African American Newspapers of the Nineteenth Century
- America's Historical Newspapers
(Part of Archive of Americana) - American Periodicals Series Online
- British Newspapers 1600-1900
- Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection
Daily Illini and the Urbana Daily Courier (1916-1935) - Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Collection of early English newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations.
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait