Featured Titles
- The Nation
Call Number: 051 N
ISBN/ISSN: 0027-8378
1865-present online. - The Village Voice
Call Number: 071.471 N489v
ISBN/ISSN: 0042-6180
1. Introduction
This page covers serial publications of the non-mainstream media, often referred to as alternative or underground press publications, which include newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and other types of serial publications. These periodicals tend to be written from an acknowledged political perspective--for example, liberal or conservative--and they often promote a specific agenda. They might, however, report on news that is of interest to a specific community--often a marginalized one--without endorsing any defined ideology. Examples of these might be African American newspapers, gay and lesbian magazines, military newspapers, or publications of immigrant groups.
This section covers primarily alternative press publications of the United States, with some coverage of Canada and the United Kingdom.
2. Online Sources
For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit the other sections of this guide.
The online newspapers listed here should not be confused with the freely-available content you would find on a newspaper website, like http://www.chicagodefender.com/. The collections below contain digitized versions of the original print editions.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Includes 5 major African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-203), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Coverage: 1960-present. 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. More information.
- Gender Watch
- Coverage: 1970-present. Articles on women's issues, gender, and sexuality. More information.
- Alt-Press Watch
- Coverage: 1970-present; mostly United States. Over 670,000 articles from 200 alternative press titles, predominantly news weeklies. More information..
- Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
- Translations into English of selected news articles from the Chicago area foreign language press, published originally between 1861 and 1938.
3. Microform Sources
The University Library has hundreds of newspapers on microfilm, with coverage back to 1960 and earlier. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database.
- Underground Newspaper Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un2
Coverage: 1963-1985. Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed Guide. Supplemented and continued by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection, the University of Missouri Underground Newspaper Collection, the Alternative Press Collection, and the Underground Press Collection Alternative Press Center Supplement, for all of which see below. - University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1m
Coverage: 1960s-1970s. Most titles from the United States and Canada. Adds 120 titles to those in the Underground Press Collection (see above). With printed Guide. - Alternative Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 AL82
ISBN/ISSN: 1059-9908
Coverage: 1986-2003, with some outliers (e.g. titles from the 40s, 50s, and 60s). Titles from around the world. Continues the Underground Press Collection (see above). Published in 19 units; each unit has its own printed Guide. - Underground Press Collection. Alternative Press Center Supplement.
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un23
Further supplements the Underground Newspaper Collection (see above). In 2 units, each with its own printed Guide. - Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un24
Supplements the Underground Press Collection (see above): adds missing issues from 88 titles in the original collection, and an additional 178 titles from the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. With printed Guide. - The Left in Britain
Call Number: 016.320942 SP44L
Collects the serial publications of over 30 left-wing British organizations active between 1904 and 1997. The link above is to the guide, available at Illinois. Continued by The Left in Britain during 1973 and 1974. The film itself is available from the Center for Research Libraries. More information. - The Underground and Alternative Press in Britain
Call Number: MFICHE 301.2 Un2
Coverage: 1961-1972. Continued through 1984 by The Underground & Alternative Press in Britain. Note that the yearly releases are not confined to publications from that calendar year. With printed Guide. - British Contemporary Press
Coverage: 1998-2000. Intended to supplement the Left in Britain and Underground and Alternative Press in Britain collections. Film available from Center for Research Libraries. More information. - Champaign-Urbana Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1ic
Coverage: 1960s-1980s. - The Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain : Primary Source Material on the Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain - William Pidduck
Call Number: 320.942085 P612r
ISBN/ISSN: 085527641X
Continued by The Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain during 1975. Guides only. Request film through Interlibrary Loan. More information. - The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries
Call Number: FILM 320.52 R44
Coverage: 1918-1977. Collection of periodicals and ephemera. - Military Newspapers: Dougherty Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 M599
Coverage: Mexican War-Vietnam War. Titles from all branches of the U.S. military. Emphasis on World War II. Almost 2,500 titles. With printed Guide.
4. Reference Sources
In this section: indexes, bibliographies, union lists, handbooks, guides, and directories.
- Alternative Press Index
Call Number: 016.3012405 AL
Coverage: 1991-present. Identifies articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative and independent press. Print edition extends the coverage back to 1969. - Left Index
Call Number: 016.32053 L522
Coverage: 1982-present. - Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982 : Bibliography, Publishing Record, and Holdings - James P. Danky
Call Number: 016.9730497 N213
ISBN/ISSN: 0313237735 - From radical left to extreme right : a bibliography of current periodicals of protest, controversy, advocacy, or dissent, with dispassionate content-summaries to guide librarians and other educators - ail Skidmore and Theodore Jurgen Spahn
Call Number: Q. 016.323 M91F 1987
ISBN/ISSN: 0810819678 - Directory of the American Left
Call Number: 320.53025 D628
ISBN/ISSN: 0733-9623
Continued by Guide to the American Left. - Directory of the American Right
Call Number: Q. 322.43025 D62
ISBN/ISSN: 0163-7541
Continued by the Guide to the American Right. - International Directory of Little Magazines and Small Presses
Call Number: 016.05 D628
ISBN/ISSN: 0363-2016
Coverage: 1965-present. - The Right Guide : a Guide to Conservative and Right-of-Center Organizations - Derk Arend Wilcox
Call Number: Q. 320.5202573 R449 1997
ISBN/ISSN: 09141690 - The Left Guide : a Guide to Left-of-Center Organizations
Call Number: Q. 320.51 L522
ISBN/ISSN: 1090-7211 - The Radical Right : a World Directory - Ciarán Ó Maoláin
Call Number: 320.52025 M32r
ISBN/ISSN: 0874365147 - Trotskyist Serials Bibliography 1927-1991 : with Locations and Indices - Wolfgang Lubitz, and Petra Lubitz
ISBN/ISSN: 3598111576
5. Other Libraries
6. Learn More
INTRODUCTORY
Carpenter, Gerald. "Alternative Press." The St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Eds. Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000. 60-62.
RELATED
Barlow, Aaron. "The Rise of the Blogosphere: Alternative Journalism." The Rise of the Blogosphere. Westport, Conn.: Praeger Publishers, 2007.
Halleck, DeeDee. "Alternative Media in the United States." Battleground: The Media. Eds. Robin Andersen and Jonathan Gray. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait