On This Page
How to find Videos
About the Collection
The Library's media collection is located in the Undergraduate Library. For more information regarding the media collection, see their website at http://www.library.uiuc.edu/ugl/media/.
The media collection circulates to all patron types for a One Week loan. Faculty and graduate students may make advance reservations for titles in the collection, and are not limited in number of items they can check out. Undergraduate students can check out up to 5 items at a time. Other patron groups may use the collection as available, and are limited in number of items checked out at any given time based on their particular patron type. Late fees of $1 per day / per item are assessed. Media materials must be picked up and returned in person at the Undergraduate Library Information Services desk.
How to find Videos
The Undergraduate Library has a nice video explaing how to find videos in our Library, and they have put together a webpage explaining how to find videos as well.
Incomplete List of Videos Pertaining to Native Americans
This incomplete list of the videos in our collection pertaining to Native American studies has been assembled over the years. This list is intended to give a brief overview of what our collection holds, and give you examples of the sorts of videos you might find. For the latest information, please use the Library Catalog to find videos. Note: all videos on list are located in the Undergraduate Library Media Center.
Bison Hunters. Marie-France Briselance, 1986. "Describes painter George Catlin's enchantment with the life of the Plains Indians in the mid-19th century. VIDREC 970.00497 B542
Black Indians: An American Story. Rich-Heape Films, 2000. VIDREC 973.0496073 B6518
Bones of Contention. BBC Production, 1998."Examination of the conflict between Native American groups and scientists, historians, and museum curators concerning the issue of the remains of more than 10,000 Native Americans unearthed at archaeological sites across the U.S." VIDREC 930.1 B641
Buffalo Bill and the Indians, or, Sitting Bull's History Lesson. Robert Altman, 2001. [originally produced as motion picture by Dino De Laurentis, MGM and United Artists in 1976] DVD 791.4372 B863me also VIDREC 791.4372 B863 (1984)
Ceremonial Music of the San Juan Pueblo: Eagle, Buffalo, Evening, Cloud, and Deer Dances. UCLA Office of Instructional Development, 1978. VIDREC 784.751 C3342
Ceremonies of Awakening. Joseph Rael, Heaven Fire Productions, 1995. [Three sacred ceremonies: Fire Ceremony, Sundance and Sweat Lodge] VIDREC 299.7845 C334
Charles Loloma and Helen Hardin. KAET, Arizona State University, 1988. "Hopi jeweler Charles Loloma...and [painter] Helen Hardin." VIDREC 739.27 C38
Coming to Light: Edward S. Curtis and the North American Indians. Anne Makepeace Productions, 2000. VIDREC 770.92 C735
Death of the Bison. Marie-France Briselance, 1986. "Depicts the westward expansion of the white settlers and the effect this had on the Indians who lost their land and the great Buffalo herds." VIDREC 970.00497 D349
Doctor, Lawyer, Indian Chief. Carol Geddes, National Film Board of Canada, 1986."Focuses on five native American women in Canada who have achieved success in a variety of careers." VIDREC 305.4897071 D659
The Female of the Species and Other Films by D. W. Griffith: Social Commentary in the Biograph, 1909-1913. David Shepard, Kino International, 1996. ["Redman's View"] VIDREC 791.4375 F349
Fritz Scholder and Allan Houser. KAET, Arizona State University, 1991. "Fritz Scholder, a California Mission Indian, creates prints and paintings that depict the modern Indian caught between ancient tradition and today's society; Allan Houser, a Chiricahua-Apache and creator of stone, wood, and bronze homages to the American Indian, discusses his life and work." VIDREC 759.13 Sch64f
Full Circle: Indians in Washington State. Michi Pictures Production / John deGraaf and Maria Gargiulo, 1990."Rebirth of Native American culture in the state of Washington." VIDREC 970.00497 F957
Honey Moccasin. Shelley Niro, 1998. "Investigates the authenticity, cultural identity, and the articulation of modern Native American experience in cinematic language and pop culture." VIDREC 155.92 H757
How to Trace Your Native American Heritage.Rich-Heape Films, 1998.[how to research Indian lineage, how to obtain Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood, how to obtain tribal membership] VEDREC 929.107207 H83
Imagining Indians. Victor Masayesva, Jr., 1992. "A Native American's view of the disparity between self-perception and the white culture's principally Hollywood-inspired interpretations of American Indians." VIDREC 302.12 Im1
In Whose Honor? Indian Mascots and Nicknames in Sports. Jay Rosenstein, 1996."Discussion of Chief Illiniwek as the University of Illinois mascot, and the effect the mascot has on Native American peoples." VIDREC 305.897 In9 also VIDREC 305.897 In9n
Incident at Oglala. Carolco International and Spanish Fork Motion Picture Co., 1992."In 1975 armed FBI agents illegally entered the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.Gunfire erupted, a Native American and two FBI agents fell dead. After the largest manhunt in FBI history, there men were apprehended. Only one, Leonard Peltier, was convicted of murder and sentenced to life in prison." [videocassette release of the 1991 documentary] VIDREC 353.46 In8
Indian Experience in the 20th Century. Central Independent Television Production, with the National Film Board of Canada, 1993. VIDREC 970.00497 In23
Indians, Outlaws and Angie Debo. Martha Sandlin, Institute for Research in History, 1988."The life of historian Angie Debo." [From PBS series, The American Experience] VIDREC 976.6 In201
The Indians Were There First. Marie-France Briselance, 1986."Brief survey of the first Indians to cross the landbridge to the North American continent from Asia." VIDREC 970.00497 In22
Invisible Indians: Mixtec farmworkers in California. Information Technology, UCDavis, 1993. "Examines the distinct culture of Mixtec Indians from Oaxaca, Mexico, who started to migrate to California in the early 1970s to work in the produce fields." VIDREC 331.544 In8
Last of the Mohicans. Twentieth Century Fox Film Corp., 1993. Based on the novel by James Fenimore Cooper. [Originally produced as motion picture in 1992] VIDREC 791.4372 L3399 also VIDREC 791.4372 L3399t
Medicine Flower and Lone Wolf and R.C. Gorman.Produced by KAET-TV, 1988. "Profiles potters Grace Medicine Flower and her brother Joseph Lonewolf, and Navajo painter R.C. Gorman." VIDREC 738.3 M468
Music in the World of the Yurok and Tolowa Indians.UCLA Office of Instructional Development, 1978. "Traditional customs, dress, artifacts, and music of the Yurok and Tolowa.Traditional hunting, gambling, and passage rite songs." VIDREC 784.751 M973
Music of the Sacred Fire: The Stomp Dance of the Oklahoma Cherokee. UCLA Office of Instructional Development, 1978. VIDREC 784.751 M9733
Native American Healing in the 21st Century. Rich-Heape Films, Inc., 1998.VIDREC 615.89 N213
Native Americans. TBS Productions, 1994."Vol. 1: The nations of the Northeast. Vol. 2: The tribal people of the Northwest. Vol. 3: The tribes of the Southeast. Vol. 4: The natives of the Southwest. Vol. 5: The people of the Great Plains, pt. 1. Vol. 6: The people of the Great Plains, pt. 2." VIDREC 970.00497 N2139
Navajo Traditional Music: Squaw Dance and Ribbon Dance.UCLA Office of Instructional Development, 1978. VIDREC 784.751 N227
North American Indians.(JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance, v. 27) Produced in collaboration with the National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka. VIDREC 793.31 J989
Return of Navajo Boy.Jeff Spitz Productions, 2000."The resurfacing of a decades old film reunites a man and his family and explores radioactivity problems on the Navajo reservation.The original film, 'Navajo Boy,' chronicles the Cly and Begay families.The 'Return of Navajo Boy' juxtaposes the families' lives then and now.It also explores the effects of uranium exposure from the mines on the Navajo Nation on the health of the Navajo people."VIDREC622.34932 R316
Savagery and the American Indian: Wilderness.BBC-TV, 2000."Examines the physical, spiritual, and cultural destruction of the Native Americans, from the 17th-century Puritan prejudices that helped generate the pernicious image of the 'save Indian' to the 1890 massacre at Wounded Knee. Also discusses the decimation of the Native American population through the introduction of European diseases." VIDREC 978.02 Sa93
Science or Sacrilege: Native Americans, Archaeology, and the Law.Nicholas Nicastro, University of California Extension Center for Media and Independent Learning, 1996. "Discusses the controversy between Indians and scientists on the excavations and study of Indian burial grounds and remains." VIDREC 305.89 Sci27
Serving Native American People: Guidelines for Health Care Providers. Shenandoah Film Productions, 198? VIDREC 362.108 Se69
Shadow Catcher: Edward S. Curtis and the North American Indian. Shadow Catchers, Inc., 1993. [originally produced 1974] "Retraces Curtis' journeys from the pueblo regions of the Southwest, north to British Columbia and Alaska." VIDREC 970.1 Sh12
Sheepeaters: Keepers of the Past. Earthtalk Productions, 1990. VIDREC 978.7004974 Sh36
Silent Enemy: An Epic of the American Indian.Paramount Pictures, 1992."Fictional documentary presenting a study of the Ojibway Indians' struggle for food before the coming of the Europeans." VIDREC 791.4372 Si333
Spirit Within. National Film Board of Canada, 1990. "Native American spiritual elders counsel and lead sweatlodge and sacred pipe ceremonies in Canadian prisons for healing and rehabilitation of native inmates to help them break the cycle of poverty, alienation, and violence." VIDREC 299.740971 Sp48
Sun, Moon and Feather. Spiderwoman Theater / Jane Zip and Bob Rosen. "Musical comedy-documentary about three Native American sisters growing up in Brooklyn during the 1930s and 1940s." VIDREC 306.8754 Su71
Tales of Wonder: Traditional Native American Fireside Stories.Rich-Heape Films, Inc., 1998. VIDREC 398.2 T1432
Talking Point: In Whose Honor? WILL-TV, 1997.Panel discussion on the film, "In Whose Honor?" VIDREC 305.897 T144
Teaching Indians to be White. Central Independent Television Production, 1993. "Schools, where native children find it nearly impossible to balance the white view they are taught with the language and values they learn at home, represents a major problem for native children." VIDREC 970.00497 T22
Warpath. Marie-France Briselance, 1986."As settlers pushed the Indians further west, war broke out as the Indians tried to retain their lands."VIDREC 970.00497 W249
When the White Man Came. Marie-France Briselance, 1986."Brief survey of a few of the predominant North American Indian tribes." VIDREC 970.00497 W547
Who Owns the Past? Independent Producers Services / N. Jed Riffe, 2000."Explores the attitudes and behavior of European Americans toward the remains of Native Americans from the earliest European settlement in American to the 1990s with the discovery of 'Kennewick Man' by the Columbia River in Washington." VIDREC 930.10283 W62
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait