Image Databases
Note: Available to anyone through the internet
There are hundreds of images related to American Indians in the American Memory Project sponsored by the Library of Congress, a gateway to primary source materials on the history and culture of the United States. Altogether there are more than seven million digital items from more than 100 historical collections in the American Memory Project. Collections with material on American Indians include:
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington)
- Edward S. Curtis North American Indian Photographic Images (Northwestern University)
- First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820 (University of Chicago Library and Filson Historical Society)
- American Environmental Photographs (University of Chicago)
- Omaha Indian Music (Library of Congress, American Folklife Center)
- Traveling Culture: Circuit Chautauqua in the Twentieth Century (University of Iowa Libraries)
- Emergence of Advertising in America (Duke University)
- Buckaroos in Paradise: Ranching Culture in Northern Nevada (Library of Congress, American Folklife Center)
- Pioneering the Upper Midwest (Library of Congress)
- History of the American West (Denver Public Library)
- "California as I Saw It": First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years (Library of Congress)
- Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 (Library of Congress)
- Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters, 1862-1912 (Nebraska State Historical Society)
- Sunday School Books: Shaping the Values of Youth in Nineteenth-Century America (Michigan State University Libraries and Clarke Historical Library, Central Michigan University)
- Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress (Library of Congress Manuscript Division and Lincoln Studies Center, Knox College)
- Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 (Duke University)
- California Heritage Collection (University of California-Berkeley)
- American Historical Images On File: The Native American Experience (Troy Johnson, California State University, Long Beach)
- Lakota Dakota Information Home Page (Creighton/Augustana)
- Meeting of Frontiers (Library of Congress, Russian State Library, National Library of Russia)
- Native American Documents Project (California State University, San Marcos)
- The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler
- Early Canadiana Online (Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions)
- Map Collections, 1500-1999 (Library of Congress)
- Making of America: Nineteenth Century in Print (University of Michigan, Cornell University, Library of Congress)
- The Avalon Project: Relations Between the United States and Native Americans (Yale University Law School)
- Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project (University of Oklahoma Law Library and National Indian Law Library)
- Photographs of the American West: 1861-1912 (National Archives and Records Administration)
- Five Views: A History of American Indians in California
- Oral Narratives and Aboriginal Pasts
- The Illustrating Traveler: Adventure and Illustration in North America and the Caribbean, 1760-1895 (Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University)
- Native American Authors (Internet Public Library)
- Legends of Our Times: Native Ranching and Rodeo Life on Plains and Plateau
- American Studies Web (Georgetown University)
Overview
Major Article Databases
Includes abstracting & indexing and full-text databases
- America: History and Life
(1964- ) Indexes and abstracts articles on all periods of North American history. Includes book reviews. Links to full text of articles included in JSTOR and Project Muse (see below); otherwise, provides only citations to the articles, not the full text. - Anthropological Index
(1957- ) Indexes hundreds of journals published throughout the world, held by the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind). - Anthropological Literature

(19th c.- ) Indexes articles in English and European languages from 900 journals and monographic seres held by Harvard University’s Tozzer Library. - Art Abstracts/Full Text
(1983 - ) Provides indexing and abstracting, and for more recent publications, full text, of articles from journals published in English and other major languages. - ATLA / ATLAS Religion Database
(1949- ) Compiled by the American Theological Library Association. Indexes and abstracts more than 1,500 journals, with full text of articles from many journals. - Bibliography of the History of Art
(1973- ) Indexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, and more than 2,500 periodicals on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. - Congressional Universe
Historical and current U.S. legislative information, including full text or citations for bills, laws, congressional publications, the U.S. Code, Statutes at Large, and Federal Register. - FIAF (International FilmArchive Database)
(1972- ) Produced by the International Federation of Film Archives. Includes indexing of periodicals about film (published since 1972) and television (published since 1979), as well as directory information on more than 100 film and TV collections. - Government Periodicals Universe
(1988- ) Indexes 330 U.S. government periodicals. - History Cooperative
Joint project of the University of Illinois Press, the National Academy Press, and the two major historical associations in the U.S., offering full text of recent issues of a few history journals. - JSTOR

A digitized, fully searchable database offering the full content of nearly 200 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their inception (sometimes as early as the 18th century) to the 1990s. - MLA International Bibliography
(1963- ) Provides indexing for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and dissertations in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. - Nineteenth-Century Masterfile

Combines seven key periodical indexes for the 19th century, including Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922; Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907 - Periodicals Contents Index/Full Text
(18th c. – 1991) Broadly multidisciplinary, with a mix of North American and West European journals in the social sciences and humanities. - Project Muse
Fully searchable, full text version of nearly 200 recent scholarly journals in the humanities. Coverage goes back to the mid-1990s for some journals, but most titles in the database start with issues from the late 1990s or early 2000s. - Statistical Universe
Provides indexing for statistical publications of the federal government, state governments, private sector, and international organizations, with links to full-text web documents. - USA.Gov

This is the official portal to the U.S. government, which has innumerable publications that address myriad issues surrounding native spirituality, ranging from the U.S. Army Chaplaincy to the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act. - Electronic Texts on Native Americans
University of Virginia Libraries. Search full text historical documents on Native American issues.
Other Article Databases
- Alternative Press Index
(1991- ) Provides indexing for approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. - Ethnic Newswatch

(1990- ) Provides full text of articles from approximately 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. - LegalTrac
(1980- ) Provides indexing and some full text for law reviews, law journals, legal newspapers, and other publications of associations and organizations connected with the law. - Expanded Academic ASAP ("Infotrac")
(1980- ) Indexes and abstracts articles from a wide range of mostly scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Provides full text of the articles from some of the journals. - Academic Universe
Covers a very broad range of publications, including newspapers, magazines, and some scholarly journals, in all disciplines, with full text.
Image and Original Documents Databases
Note: Resources Available to UIUC Affiliates Only
Early Encounters in North America. Letters, diaries, memoirs, and other accounts of encounters among traders, missionaries, explorers, native peoples, soldiers, officials, and others between 1534 and 1850. Currently with about 40,000 pages of text, the database is not quite half finished. The material is extensively indexed and fully searchable.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries. Diaries and letters of 442 women from the colonial period to 1950, totaling approximately 50,000 pages of text. This represents about one-third of the sources that will eventually comprise the completed database. All documents are indexed and fully searchable.
Harper's Weekly. Page images of the original Harper’s Weekly, covering the years of the Civil War and Reconstruction (1857 to 1877) and the early years of the Gilded Age (1878 to 1889). Fully indexed (including the advertising and illustrations) and searchable. Eventually will include issues through 1912.
Empire On-Line. Although North America is not the primary focus of this collection of texts, it does include accounts of missionary contacts with indigenous groups living in Canada. These are original documents, both manuscript and printed, primarily from the British Library. Completion of this database is projected for 2006, with a total of 60,000 images.
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF Ethnography Collection) Identifies ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Topics include how the people of the culture live their daily lives, solve their conflicts, and raise their children, their religious beliefs and practices, and their history. Every paragraph of the full text source (book, article, dissertation) is subject-indexed for precise retrieval of information.
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait