Blogs and Forums
- American Indians in Children's Literature
Run by UIUC Assistant Professor Debbie Reese, this blog offers "a critical discussion of American Indians in children's books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society-at-large."
Overview
This page lists a few of the many resources available to anyone on the internet. If you come across a useful site in your research, feel free to submit the link.
For online databases (mostly available to users with Net-IDs), check out the Databases tab.
Web Links
- American Indian and Alaska Native Populations
A compilation of demographic information prepared by the U.S. Census Bureau, including data tables on social and economic characteristic, housing, and historical trends. - Bureau of Indian Affairs
The official site of Bureau of Indian Affairs of the U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) provides information on a variety of topics, including BIA history, a directory of tribal leaders, and links to information about Native American ancestry and genea - Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
An extensive and well-organized index of Native American resources on the Web including Native American nations, culture, history, health, law/government, education, art, and archaeology. In addition, it includes links to books, music, film and video, gam - Indianz.com
Updated daily, this award-winning website provides quality news and information on a range of topics from a Native American perspective as well as resources on issues facing Native Americans today. - Native American Authors
This site provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal web sites. - Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
This project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the constitutions, tribal codes, and other legal documents. It offers the user access - Native American Sites
A well-maintained portal to Native American resources on the web. Created by a librarian, the site is organized into categories that reflect the questions most frequently asked at the reference desk. Topics include Indian education, languages, the mascot - NativeWeb
NativeWeb was desgned to serve as a virtual community center. The goals of the site include disseminating information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations; fostering communication between native and non-native peoples; and providi - SSILA: The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas
The homepage of the Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA), this site is an authoritative source for information on Indian languages and language issues. - EPA American Indian Environmental Issues
The American Indian Environmental Office (AIEO) coordinates the Agency-wide effort to strengthen public health and environmental protection in Indian Country, with a special emphasis on building Tribal capacity to administer their own environmental progra - A Critical Bibliography on North American Indians, for K-12
This bibliography, compiled by the Anthropology Outreach Office of the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History, aids teachers and parents in choosing culturally sensitive and historically accurate books for children. - Internet Public Library: Native American Authors
This website provides information on Native North American authors, including bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources such as interviews, online texts and tribal websites. - UIUC's Guide to Native American Children's Literature
UIUC's Education Library has a guide to Native American Children's and Young Adults literature - Lakota/Dakota Bibliography

Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Creighton University. A project of Rev. Raymond A. Bucko, S.J., a Jesuit professor at Creighton University. The bibliography is biased towards Native Christianity among the Lakota and Dakota... - National Indian Law Library

Native American Rights Fund. A comprehensive collection of past and present Tribal governmental documents, and literature about Native legal issues. - Native American History and Culture
National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institute. Good resources for Native American culture, by region, culture group, subject and NMAI exhibit. - Sacred Texts -- Native American Religions
A volunteer run site collecting sacred texts from traditions around the globe. The Native American Religions site takes a respectful approach and lists historical texts and ethnographic accounts by culture group.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link





Loading content... please wait