Maps & Atlases
Atlas of American Indian Affairs. By Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press, 1990. 191 pp. Q.912.7 P95a Map & Geography Library Reference
More than 100 black and white maps documenting culture and tribal areas; U.S. census data; Indian land cessions; Indian reservations; agencies, school, hospitals; Oklahoma Indian Territory; Alaska; the U.S. Army and the Indian frontier. Notes to the maps are listed in the back of the volume. There is a single index combining subjects and tribal and geographic names.
Atlas of the North American Indian. By Carl Waldman. New York: Facts on File, 1985. xi, 276 pp. Q.970.00497 W146a Reference Library, Education Library Reference
Maps and diagrams of Native American territory from the ancient to modern periods, arranged in eight topical chapters, with a combined subject and name index. There are appendices listing tribes and their locations, reservations, museums and historical and archaeological sites, place names, Indian bands in Canada, a bibliography, and a chronology of events.
California Spanish and Indian Place Names, their Pronunciation, Meaning and Location. By Laura Kelly McNary. Los Angeles: Wetzel Publishing Co. Inc., 1931. 77 pp. 929.4 M23c Reference Library
Includes a list of missions with brief descriptions.
Dictionary of American-Indian Place and Proper Names in New England. By R.A. Douglas-Lithgow. Salem, Mass.: Salem Press, 1909. xxi, 400 pp. 929.4 D74d Reference Library
A list of Indian place names in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut.
Statistics
Nations Within a Nation: Historical Statistics of American Indians. By Paul Stuart. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987. x, 251 pp. 973.0497 St93n History Philosophy and Newspaper Library
Mainly based on U.S. government publications, with some tribal-level data. Coverage is limited to Indian groups in the United States, plus Alaska Natives. The data is presented in nine topical chapters (land base and climate; population; removal, relocation and urbanization; vital statistics and health; government activities; health and education; employment and income; and economic development). Each table includes source notes, and there is a bibliography of sources cited and a subject index.
Statistical Record of Native North Americans. Edited by Marlita A. Reddy. Detroit: Gale, 1993. lxvi, 1661 pp. Q.304.608997 St29 Reference Library, Education Library Reference
Compendium of statistical data with more than 1,000 tables and charts arranged in 12 topical chapters. The chapters cover topics such as history, population, family, education, culture, health, social and economic conditions, business and industry, land and water management, government relations, and law and law enforcement. Each table references the original source. There is also a separate list of sources, as well as a detailed keyword index. Does not incorporate 1990 census data, but has projections for 2040.
Chronologies
Chronology of American Indian History: The Trail of the Wind. By Liz Sonneborn. New York: Facts on File, 2001. 442 pp. 970.00497002 So591c HPNL Reference
Timeline of key events in Native American history from emergence in North America through early 2001, emphasizing Native and Euro-American relations since 1492, with a glossary of terms, bibliography, and subject index.
Chronology of Native North American History: From Pre-Columbian Times to the Present. By Duane Champagne. Detroit: Gale, 1994. lxxv, 574 pp. 970.00497 C4682 Undergraduate Library Reference
Following a substantial introductory essay summarizing Native American history and development, the chronology is organized into ten chapters (nine covering 1500 to 1994). Supplementary matter includes excerpts from key historical documents, a bibliography, and a combined subject and name index.
Chronology of the American Indian: A Guide to Native Peoples of the Western Hemisphere, 25,000 B.C.-1994. Newport, Calif.: American Indian Publishers, 301 pp. Q.970.00497 C468 Reference Library
A detailed timeline, with illustrations, of Native American history in North America, beginning with the first migrations across the land bridge from Asia to Alaska, up to 1994.
Almanacs
The Native American Almanac: A Portrait of Native America Today. 1993. 973.0497002 H616n
This work focuses on various aspects of Native North American life today, and also provides summaries of laws, treaties, and court cases historically affecting American Indians. Appendixes list Native North American tribes by state, reservation, colonies, and historic Indian areas.
Native North American Almanac: A Reference Work on Native North Americans in the United States and Canada. Edited by Duane Champagne. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. xxviii, 1275 pp. Q.970.00497 N2136 Reference Library, Education Library Reference
Covers Native North American history (pre-1500 to1992), culture areas, religion, legal issues, administration, activism, environmental issues, demographics, arts and literature, education, economics, wealth and biography. Combines historical information and current directory listings, arranged in 17 topical chapters (including historical chronology, demography, culture areas, languages, law, activism, the environment, nonreservation populations, religion, the arts, media, health, and education), with glossary, index, bibliography, and illustrations.
Other Reference Material
Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1983. Edited by Jessie Carney Smith. xxxix, 440 pp. 929.1072073 Et38 Reference Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Stacks
Although mainly an introduction to genealogical research, this guide includes separate chapters on records of specific ethnic groups. See "American Indian Records and Research," by Jimmy B. Parker, pp. 209-238.
Ethnic and Racial Images in American Film and Television. By Allen L. Woll and Randall M. Miller. New York: Garland, 1987. xv, 408 pp. 016.79143 W834e Communications Library Reference, Undergraduate Library Reference, Afro-Americana Library, Stacks
For each major ethnic group, there is an overview of film and television images from the early twentieth century to the present, an historiographical essay, and a bibliography. Chapter XI, "Native Americans," pp. 327-341. Indexed by author, subject, and film/television show.
Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical Information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present. 1994. Q. 810.9 N2131 English Library Reference
Provides biographical and critical material on 78 Native American writers and orators, including historical figures such as Sitting Bull and contemporary writers such as Louise Erdrich. Each entry gives a summary of the writer's life, a list of major writings, book reviews, critical commentary, interviews, and a bibliography. The indexes provide access by tribe, genre, and title.
North American Indian Jewelry and Adornment: From Prehistory to the Present. 2003. Q.739.2708997 D852n 2003
A look at the Native American jewelry and adornment in the context of history, geography and cultures, this book includes many photographs and illustrations. It contains a section of notes, a bibliography, and a subject index.
Overview
This page lists some of the items in the Library's reference collection that may be useful. The reference collection cannot be checked out, and, unless otherwise noted, the items can be found in the Education and Social Science Library.
For online reference material, see the Library's Online Reference page.
General Reference
ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement. By Mark Grossman. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996. 342.720872 G914a HPNL Reference
Describes court cases, federal legislation, organizations, legal concepts, activists, government officials, and historical figures. With a chronology, bibliography, and combined subject-name index.
American Indians. Edited by Harvey Markowitz. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1995. 3 vols. 970.00497 Am358 Undergraduate Library Reference
Provides coverage of Indian groups in the U.S. and Canada, as well as other native groups, such as Inuits and Aleuts, in dictionary format. Each of the more than 1,100 entries provides dates or other identifying information, place, tribal affiliation or association, discussion of significance, cross references, and bibliographical references. Supplementary matter includes lists of educational institutions and programs; festivals and pow-wows; museums, archives, and libraries; organizations and agencies; Canadian reserves and bands; U.S. reservations; a glossary of terms; timeline; list of films depicting American Indians; bibliography; and index.
American Indian History. Edited by Carole A. Barrett. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2003. 2 vols. 970.00497 Am3522 HPNL Reference
Covers major events in the history of Native Americans of North America. More than 100 scholars contributed to the volume, but the vast majority of the entries are culled from other Salem publications. (Only 16 of the 224 entries are published here for the first time.) The entries are signed and arranged topically, with brief bibliographies and cross references to related entries. There is a gazetteer of historic places; listings of museums, archives, and libraries; of organizations, agencies, and societies; of tribes by culture area; a general bibliography; a list of 100 historic Native Americans with dates and brief identifying information; and several indexes.
American Indian
Reservations and Trust Areas. 1996 973.0497003 Am35 Education Reference, Main Stacks
Provides descriptions of the social, political, and economic conditions of Indian reservations across the nation. Tribes are listed alphabetically by state. Each entry provides a contact address, a description of the reservation's history, government, and land status, and other pertinent information and statistics. Much of the data was provided by the tribes themselves. Maps and photos accompany the text. An extensive index and bibliography offer further guidance.
Indians of North America: Methods and Sources for Library Research. 1983. 016.97000497 H111i
A systematic guide to conducting library research on Native Americans. Subject headings and call numbers are provided in the opening pages. Part 1 includes chapters on indexes, abstracts, and online databases, with descriptions each source's coverage with regard to Native American topics. Part 2 is an annotated bibliography, primarily of books published since the 1970s, arranged by topics such as alcohol, art, war, and women.
Indian Tribes of North America. By John R. Swanton. (Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulletin 145.) Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1952. vi, 726 pp. 970.1 Sw2i Reference Library, Undergraduate Library Reference, Stacks
Lists Indian tribes by state. Includes detailed regional maps with brief histories and estimates of population. There is a bibliography and combined subject-name index.
Native Americans Information Directory. Edited by Julie C. Furtaw. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. xiv, 371 pp. Q.970.00497 N2132 Reference Library (1998 edition in Education Library Reference)
Directory of organizations, agencies, institutions, programs, and services for American Indians, Alaska natives, native Hawaiians, and aboriginal Canadians. There is a combined name and keyword index.
Native American World. By Donna Hightower Langston. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, 2003. 973.0497 H538n HPNL
Broad overview, in four parts, of Native American life, covering culture, individuals, Indian nations, and politics and post-contact history. Most entries are schematic, and no bibliographic references are provided, although there are cross-references to related entries. There is a bibliography of sources consulted by the compiler, but no index.
Bibliographies and Research Guides
American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and Periodicals. By Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1984-86. 3 vols. 051 L73a Communications Library Reference, Reference Library (vol. 1 only)
Covers periodicals and newspapers edited by published by American Indians or Alaska Natives and others whose purpose was to publish about contemporary American Indians or Alaska Natives. For each title, there is a narrative history, a full bibliographic description, detailed publication history, citations to other sources of information, and a list of location sources. There is a chronological list of titles, and indexes by tribal affiliation and place of publication, and a list of contributors to the project with brief biographies. Vol. 1: 1826-1924. Vol. 2: 1925-1970. Vol. 3: 1971-1985.
American Indian Studies: A Bibliographic Guide. By Phillip M. White. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1995. xi, 163 pp. 016.97000497 W585a Undergraduate Library Reference, Education Library Reference Also available as e-book from NetLibrary (available to UIUC affiliates; for access see UIUC online catalog record)
Guide to major information sources for research on American Indians. The nearly 400 annotated entries are divided by genre into 12 chapters, covering encyclopedias, dictionaries, periodicals and newspaper indexes, directories, statistical compendia, bibliographies, biographical sources, government publications, and other materials published in the U.S. between 1970 and 1993.
Bibliographical Guide to the History of Indian-White Relations in the United States. By Francis Paul Prucha. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1977. x, 454 pp. 016.9705 P95b Education Library Reference
Indian-White Relations in the United States: A Bibliography of Works Published 1975-1980. By Francis Paul Prucha. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press, 1982. viii, 179 pp. 016.9705 P956i Education Library Reference
Each of these volumes consists of two parts: citations to guides and reference works, followed by a classified bibliography of books and articles (covering Indian policy, treaties, land, military relations, trade, missions, law, education, health, specific groups, and "special topics," including captivities, images of Indians, and place names). All entries are annotated. Coverage is limited to works of historical narrative and analysis, including biographical treatment; and anthropological works are generally excluded. The main volume lists publications through 1974, with 306 entries in part I (guides and reference works) and nearly 9,400 in part II (the classified bibliography). The supplemental volume adds another 3,400 citations (91 in part I and more than 3,300 in part II).
Bibliography of North American Folklore and Folksong. Compiled by Charles Haywood. Vol. 2: The American Indians North of Mexico, including the Eskimos. New York: Dover, 1961. 2nd rev. ed. 016.398 H33b 1961 Reference Library, English Library Reference, Music Library Reference
Classified listing of books, articles, and scores, arranged by tribe within geographic region. There is a combined name, title, and subject index.
Bibliographical Series. D’Arcy McNickle Center for the History of the American Indian, Newberry Library. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1976-1987. Cataloged under individual title, located in Stacks, History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Education Library
More than 30 separate bibliographies were issued in this series, covering specific groups or topics (e.g., The Plains Indians: A Critical Bibliography, by E. Adamson Hoebel, or Southeastern Frontiers: Europeans, Africans, and American Indians, 1513-1840: A Critical Bibliography, by James Howlett O’Donnell).
Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924. By Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1981. xvii, 343 pp. 016.9730497 L73b Reference Library
Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924. A Supplement. By Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1985 xxii, 339 pp. 016.9730497 L73b sup. Reference Library, Stacks
Lists works in English by Native Americans published between 1772 and 1924. Includes political essays, sermons, published letters, memoirs, and historical writings, as well as belles lettres. Each volume is comprises two main sections: the first is a bibliography of writings arranged alphabetically by author, and the second consists of biographical notes on the authors with bibliographic references to sources of information. There is a separate section for writers known only by pen names, plus an index by tribal affiliation and a subject index.. The first volume covers 250 writers, and the supplement covers an additional 942 writers.
Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899. By Steven L. Johnson. New York: Clearwater Pub. Co., 1977. xviii, 503 pp. 016.9705 J63g History & Philosophy Library
Lists 10,649 documents and reports printed for the 15th through the 55th Congresses (1817-1899), in chronological order. Each entry consists of document title and date; citation (series, number, Congress and session, volume, number of pages, and serial set volume number), and a brief description of the contents of the document. There is an appendix listing documents on Indian affairs published in the American State Papers (from the 1st through the 19th Congresses, 1789-1827) and another listing documents of both the Confederate and Union Armies that were printed in the Serial Set. There is also a detailed subject index.
Guide to Research on North American Indians. 1983. 016.97000497 H616g
An annotated list of 1,100 books, articles, and government publications divided into four parts: introductory material, history and historical sources, economic and social aspects, and religion, arts, and literature. Each section, covering topics such as political organization or urban life, begins with an essay summarizing the literature.
Images of American Indians on Film: An Annotated Bibliography. By Gretchen M. Bataille and Charles L. P. Silet. New York: Garland, 1985. xxvii, 216 pp. 016.79143 B311i Education Library Reference, English Library Reference
Provides extended bibliographic essay on general treatments of American Indians in film, a bibliography of reviews of specific films, and a list of sound films depicting American Indians. There is a combined title and name index.
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology. 2nd ed. John M. Weeks. 1998. 016.301 W418i
A guide to library resources in anthropology and related area studies The section called "North America--Indian-White Relations" is of particular interest. Author, ethnic/cultural group, and geographic indices are provided.
Native American Bibliography Series. No. 1- . Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1980-
Separately published bibliographies of varying length on individual tribes or other topics pertaining to Native Americans. Examples: Bibliography of the Sioux (1980), A Guide to Cherokee Documents in Foreign Archives (1983), A Guide to Cherokee Documents in the Northeastern United States (1986), Bibliography of the Blackfoot (1989), The Seneca and Tuscarora Indians (1994), The Native American in Long Fiction (1996), Indian Slavery, Labor, Evangelization, and Captivity in the Americas (1998). Many of these bibliographies are located in the main bookstacks; others can be found in the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library or the Education and Social Sciences Library. All are searchable under the series title in the online catalog.
Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982: Bibliography, Publishing Record, and Holdings. Compiled by Maureen E. Hady. Edited by James P. Danky. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1984. xxxii, 532 pp. 016.9730497 N213 Reference Library, Newspaper Library Reference, Communications Library Reference, Education Library Reference
Complete bibliographic descriptions for 1,164 periodicals and newspapers by and about Native Americans, published between 1828 and 1982, arranged alphabetically by title Includes holdings for selected repositories, subject index, geographic name index, and index of publishers.
Native American References: A Cross-Indexed Bibliography of Seventeenth-Century American Imprints Pertaining to American Indians. By James Thomas Clancy. Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, n.s. v. 83, pt. 2 (1974), pp. 287-341. 906 AM n.s.v. 83-84 Stacks
Comprehensive listing of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published between 1639 and 1700. Entries are arranged chronologically, with separate ethnological and geographical indexes. The Readex numbers for the Early American Imprints set are provided.
Native Americans: An Annotated Bibliography. By Frederick E. Hoxie and Harvey Markowitz. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1991. xiii, 325 pp. 016.97000497 H85n Reference Library, Undergraduate Library Reference, Education Library Reference
Citations are arranged topically within four main sections (general studies/reference; history; eight culture areas; and contemporary life), with descriptive annotations and author index. This is a selective bibliography, with emphasis on books published since 1970.
Handbooks
Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Edited by Frederick Webb Hodge. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1907. 2 vols. 970.1 H66h Reference Library, Stacks
Provides a "brief description of every linguistic stock, confederacy, tribe, subtribe or tribal division, and settlement known to history or even to tradition, as well as the origin and derivation of every name treated…and every form of the name..." (p. viii). Also lists places, individuals, families, missions, pueblos, and religions, with bibliographies and an index of name equivalents.
Handbook of Middle American Indians. Robert Wauchope, general editor. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1964-76. 16 vols. 970.4 H192 Reference Library, Education Library Reference, Undergraduate Library Reference
Supplement to the Handbook of Middle American Indians. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1981- In progress 970.4 H192sup. Education Library, Reference Library
Each volume comprises essays by specialists on topics in archaeology, linguistics, literature, natural environment, social anthropology, physical anthropology, ethnology, and ethnohistorical sources, with bibliographic references, maps, and illustrations.
Handbook of North American Indians. William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1978- In progress. 970.402 H19 1 Reference Library, Education Library Reference
Of the 20 volumes planned for this set, volumes 4-13, 15, and 17 are complete. Each volume contains essays by scholars on specific topics in American Indian life and culture, with a cumulated list of sources cited in the essays and a detailed name and subject index. Volume 20 will be a cumulated index to the entire set.
Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships. By J. Norman Heard. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987-1998. 5 vols. 973.0321 H351h Undergraduate Library Reference
Each of the four regional volumes (Southeastern woodlands; Northeastern woodlands, Great Plains; Far West) comprises a dictionary of prominent American Indians, tribes, explorers, traders, settlers, soldiers, missionaries, forts, treaties, battles and other events, with bibliographical references. Vol. 5 contains a chronology, bibliography of sources, and combined subject-name index. [check]
The Native Americans: The Indigenous People of North America. 1991. Q.970.00497 N2135 Education Library Reference
A cultural handbook and historical survey for Native American groups in North America organized by region. It focuses on history, material culture, subsistence patterns, and political structure. Each section contains historical photos, drawings, maps, and photos of material items for at least one group from the region. There is a bibliography and a reference list at the end of each chapter. It includes indexes.
Dictionaries
Concise Dictionary of Indian Tribes of North America. By Barbara A. Leitch. Algonac, MI: Reference Publications Inc., 1979. 646 pp. 970.00497 L53c Reference Library, Education Library Reference
Alphabetical listing by tribe, with illustrations, maps, and combined subject, personal, and place name index.
Dictionary Catalog of the Edward E. Ayer Collection of Americana and American Indians in the Newberry Library. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1961. 16 vols. Q.016.973 N42d Reference Library First supplement. 3 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1970. Q.016.973 N42d sup. Reference Library
Combined author and subject catalog of this magnificent collection, totaling, in 1960, more than 90,000 items. The three-volume supplement lists 9,500 books added to the collection during the 1960s.
Dictionary of Indian Tribes of the
This set is designed to be a first source for information that can direct the user to more detailed sources. Alphabetical entries provides 2-5 page descriptions of each group. Additional features include a detailed index and several descriptive maps.
Dictionary of Native American Literature. 1994. 897.03 D561 Modern Languages, Undergraduate Reference
Includes more than 70 essays by members of the Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures. Entries are arranged by historical period: Native American oral literature, Indian writing to 1967, and Indian writing from 1967 to the present. Each chapter includes information about anthropology, folklore, literature, and Native American studies, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. A single index combines subjects, authors, and titles.
Dictionary of Native American Mythology. By Sam D. Gill and Irene F. Sullivan. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1992. xxx, 425 pp. 299.703 G41d Reference Library, Undergraduate Library Reference, Education Library Reference
For each practice, object, symbol, ritual, mythical figure, or story described, there is a brief description, indication of tribe and cultural area, and bibliographic references.
Word Dance: The Language of Native American Culture. By Carl Waldman. New York: Facts on File, 1994. ix, 290 pp. 970.00497003 W146w Undergraduate Library Reference, Education Library Reference
Dictionary of terms used in Native American cultural studies, including objects, events, groups, activities, and concepts from anthropology. Each entry consists of headword, definition, alternate spellings, synonyms, and, for native language terms, provenance.
Encyclopedias
The
An illustrated look at the history and cultures of the peoples of Native North America from the 16th century to the present. Covers a wide range of topics from art and government to notable people. Includes a general index.
Encyclopedia of Native American Economic History. 1999. 330.973 En192
The thrust of this work is to fill a void in the formalized scholarship of Native American economic history. The central basis for this work is Native American sovereignty, with a focus on economics as a foundation for real political autonomy.
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. 1999. Q.970.00497003 W146e 1999
An alphabetically arranged encyclopedia of approximately 150
Indian tribes located in
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: An Introduction. By Arlene B. Hirschfelder. 2nd ed. New York: Facts on File, 2000. x, 390 pp. Q.299.703 H616e 2000 Undergraduate Library Reference
Overview of religious beliefs, practices, spiritual traditions, and sacred sites of Native Americans in the U.S. and Canada. Includes brief biographies of Native American religious practitioners and Catholic and Protestant missionaries. Entries are schematic and do not include bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Edited by Frederick E. Hoxie. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996. x, 756 pp. 970.00497003 En19 HPNL Reference, Undergraduate Library Reference
The product of collaboration of more than 260 scholars, this one-volume work contains 100 topical essays, 100 biographies of historical figures, descriptions of 100 tribes, and more than 100 definitions. The entries are signed (except for the shorter definitional entries) and include brief bibliographies. There is a general index and a list of contributors with short biographies.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 1:
Provides detailed descriptions, written by prominent scholars, of 223 Native American cultures. The ethnographic summaries cover demography, linguistic affiliation, history and cultural relations, settlements, economy, kinship, marriage and family, sociopolitical organization, religion, and expressive culture. Includes a glossary, a list of films, and an ethnonym index that cross-references alternate names and the names of subgroups. An extensive subject index is found in Vol. 10, the index for the entire set.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Edited by Sharon Malinowski et al. Detroit: Gale, 1998. 4 vols. Q.973.0497 G131 Reference Library
Provides detailed historical and current information for some 400 groups in 13 geographical regions of North America, written or reviewed by Native American authors or tribal councils. There is a cumulative index of tribes and a glossary of terms in volume four.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. By Michael Johnson. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1999. 288 pp. Q.970.00497003 J635m Undergraduate Library Reference, Education Reference
Heavily illustrated, with many color and black-and-white illustrations and color plates, this volume is an excellent source of visual information on the material culture, particularly dress and habitation, of native groups. Supplementary matter includes a partial list of pow wows, a list of museums, current population data, a list of web sites, and an index.
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples. By Barry M. Pritzker. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998. 2 vols. 970.00497 P939n HPNL Reference, Education Library Reference
Presents historical and contemporary information on tribal and other groups resident mainly in the U.S., organized into ten regions. There is a glossary of terms, brief bibliography, subject index, and a list of Canadian reserves and bands.
Native Americans in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. Edited by Mary B. Davis. New York: Garland, 1994. xxxvii, 787 pp. Q.970.00497003 N213 Undergraduate Library Reference
More than 300 scholars contributed to this volume covering native groups resident in the U.S. The signed entries are arranged in topical chapters (tribal nations, Indian associations, government policy, health, languages, law, and religion) and provide bibliographical references. Participating scholars of native heritage are so designated in the list of contributors.
The Native Tribes of
Arranged by geographic region and by languages within regions, this encyclopedia features brief articles with historical, cultural and graphical information for more than 300 native tribes in the United States and Canada.
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. 13th ed. 2007. 970.103 R2592007 Undergraduate Reference
A major source for listings of information on American Indian and Alaska Native groups, the first section of the book contains the source listings, presenting names, addresses, and often leaders of the tribal organizations (both federal and other) across the United States, as well as education, health, research, audiovisual, business and events directories. The resource provides similar information for Canada. The third section is the bibliography, which contains citations for 4500 in-print titles. Separate lists by subject follow, and there is also a listing of publishers of Indian titles. Information included in the biography section is provided by each biographee and varies in length and currency. A list of the approximately 2500 biographees follows. Older editions also available. See the library catalog.
Biographies
Encyclopedia of Native American Biography : Six Hundred Life Stories of Important People from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller. 1997. 970.00497 J599e
The book features short biographies on 600 writers, warriors, explorers, religious leaders, legislators, and activists from historical times to the present. Entries were written by scholars that have researched and written extensively on Native American issues.
Who Was Who in Native American History: Indians and Non-Indians from Early Contacts through 1990. 1990. Q.970.00497 W146w
This work selectively lists and provides brief biographical information on key figures in Native American history. Appendixes list Native Americans by tribe and non-Indians by occupations.
American Indian Biographies. Edited by Harvey Markowitz. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1999. xii, 436 pp. 920.009297 Am351 Undergraduate Library Reference
Biographical sketches, contributed by 78 scholars, of 329 individuals, including historical, religious, and political figures, warriors, activists, writers, and artists. All but 22 of the entries were previously published in other Salem Press publications (mostly in the three-volume American Indians, edited by Markowitz and published in 1995). Entries are signed and provide dates, tribal affiliation, and discussion of significance. Many entries provide bibliographical references.
Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924. By Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1981. xvii, 343 pp. 016.9730497 L73b Reference Library
Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924. A Supplement. By Daniel F. Littlefield and James W. Parins. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1985 xxii, 339 pp. 016.9730497 L73b sup. Reference Library, Stacks
Lists works in English by Native Americans published between 1772 and 1924. Includes political essays, sermons, published letters, memoirs, and historical writings, as well as belles lettres. Each volume is comprises two main sections: the first is a bibliography of writings arranged alphabetically by author, and the second consists of biographical notes on the authors with bibliographic references to sources of information. There is a separate section for writers known only by pen names, plus an index by tribal affiliation and a subject index.. The first volume covers 250 writers, and the supplement covers an additional 942 writers.
Biographical and Historical Index of American Indians and Persons Involved in Indian Affairs. Compiled by Anita S. Tilden and Eugenia Langford. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1966. 8 vols. Q.016.9701 UN35b Reference Library
Reproduces the card file from the Library of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (now at the Department of the Interior Library), covering Indian chiefs and other historically prominent Indians, Indian agents and other BIA personnel.
Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900. By Carl Waldman. Rev. ed. New York: Facts on File, 2001. vi, 506 pp. 970.00497 W146w 2001 History & Philosophy Library Reference
Revised edition of Who Was Who in Native American History (1990). Provides brief biographies of prominent Native Americans and other individuals with involvement in Indian affairs, to 1900, arranged alphabetically by personal name. Entries provide meaning of the name, birth and death dates, and sphere of activity. Extensively indexed by tribe, topic, historical period, and occupation.
Great North American Indians: Profiles in Life and Leadership. By Frederick J. Dockstader. New York: Van Norstrand Reinhold, 1977. ix, 386 pp. 970.2 D65g Reference Library, Education Library Reference, Undergraduate Library Reference
Short biographical sketches of approximately 300 prominent Native Americans, with black and white portraits. There is an index of names mentioned in the text, a tribal index, and a list of sources used.
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary. 2nd ed. Edited by Gretchen M. Bataille and Laurie Lisa. New York: Routledge, 2001. xv, 396 pp. 920.7208997 N213 2001 Reference Library, Women & Gender Resources Library
Approximately 300 women are profiled in this dictionary. Each entry is signed and most include bibliographic references.
Portrait Index of North American Indians in Published Collections. By Patrick Frazier. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1996. 2nd rev. ed. xx, 200 pp. Q.016.9700497 F869p 1996 Reference Library
Lists published portraits of American Indians arranged alphabetically by tribe. There is a list of the 115 sources, published between 1835 and 1995, in which the portraits appear (all held at the Library of Congress) and an individual name index.
Description
Loading content... please wait








Loading content... please wait