Search Hints
Call Numbers
Books on Native Americans are scattered throughout the Library, making shelf browsing somewhat difficult.
The following call numbers may be helpful, but resources are not held strictly inside them:
- 016.97000497 Bibliographies
- 299.7 Mythology and Religion
- 342.73 Legal Issues and Problems
- 497-498 Language
- 709.7 Art
- 810-811 Literature
- 970.00497 History and comprehensive works, throughout North America
- 973.00497-979.00497 History and comprehensive work, U.S. by region and state
Overview
Books pertaining to Native American studies are numerous, but located in several departmental libraries. Your first step should be to consult the Library Catalog. If you need help with this process, see the library catalog libguide. This page has a few hints and ways to use subject headings in your search as well.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Subject headings are terms or phrases used in the Library Catalog and most databases to identify and pull together under a common umbrella materials on a given topic, regardless of words in a title. The Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings (LCSH) are used to identify subjects for items in the UIUC Online Library Catalog. Print copies of the LC Subject Headings are available across from the Reference Desk in the Undergraduate Library.
The Undergraduate Library has a good introduction to using LC Subject Headings for your research. For a list of Library of Congress Subject Headings related to Native Americans, see American Indian Studies: A Bibliographic Guide, pages 127-142 (016.97000497 W585a, shelved in the Education Reference Collection).
Note: LCSH "uses the term 'Indians' for the indigenous peoples of the Western Hemisphere. More specifically, LCSH uses 'Indians of North America' for those peoples indigenous to the United States and/or Canada. Often, if an item is about one particular tribe, the item will have the tribe's name as its subject heading. 'Algonquian Indians,' 'Comanche Indians,' 'Dakota Indians,' 'Eskimos,' and 'Oglala Indians'--- all are a few examples of Library of Congress subject headings found by searching for a particular tribe." (Source: http://library.wvstateu.edu/printouts/hisnaweb.html)
Examples of LCSH:
American literature --Indian authors --Bio-bibliography.
Native American Studies.
Indians of North America.
Indians of North America --Languages --Congresses.
Indians of North America Religion
To limit your search to a specific tribe, replace the phrase "Indians of North America" with the tribe or groups name, plus Indians. For example, Cherokee Indians Religion and Hopi Indians Religion are subject headings in the UIUC library catalog. Use this method under the Guided Search option, and select Words in Subject from the drop down menu.
Examples: Native American Religious Studies
General Native American Religion Sources
Albanese, Catherine.
Nature Religion in America: From the Algonkian Indians to
the New Age. 1990.
Undergrad, Stacks: 291.2120973 AL13N
Allen, Paula Gunn.
The Sacred Hoop : Recovering the Feminine in American Indian
Traditions : With a New Preface. 1992.
Education: 970.00497 AL54S1992
Brown, Brian Edward.
Religion, Law, and the Land: Native Americans and the Judicial
Interpretation of Sacred Land. 1999.
Main Stacks: 346.730432 B812r
Carmody, Denis L. Native
American Religion: An Introduction. 1993.
Undergrad: 299.79 C213N
Clements, William M.,
and Frances M. Malpezzi, comps. Native American Folklore, 1879-1979:
An Annotated Bibliography. 1984
Main Stacks: Q. 016.398 C591N
Deloria, Vine Jr For
This Land: Writings on Religion in America, edited and
with an introduction by James Treat. 1999.
Education: 199.7 D384f
Deloria, Vine Jr God
is Red. 1973
Undergrad, Stacks: 291.211 D38G
Erdoes Richard, Alfonso
Ortiz, eds. American Indian Myths and Legends. 1984.
Undergrad: 389.208997 AM35
Gill, Sam Native
American Religions: An Introduction. 1982
Education, Undergrad: 299.78 G41N
Gill, Sam D., Irene
F. Sullivan, eds. Dictionary of Native American Mythology.
1992.
Main Reference, Undergrad Reference, Uni High
Reference, Education Reference [all non-circulating]: 299.703 G41D
Hultkrantz, Ake The
Religions of The American Indians. 1979.
Stacks, Undergrad 299.7 H87A:E
Irwin, Lee, ed.
Native American Spirituality: A Critical Reader. 2000.
Education,
Undergrad: 299.7 N2133
Kidwell, Clara Sue,
Homer Noley, George E. Tinker A Native American Theology.
2001.
Main Stacks: 230.08997 K541n
Steltenkamp, Michael.
The Sacred Vision: Native American Religion and Its Practice Today.
1982.
Undergrad: 299.793 ST39S
Vecsey, Christopher. Religion
in Native North America. 1990.
Undergrad: 299.7 R2792
Williamson, Ray, and Claire Farrer.
Earth and Sky: Visions of the Cosmos in Native American
Folklore. 1992.
Education 398.26 EA76
Zimmerman, Larry J. Native
North America. 1996.
Education: 299.7 Z65N
Of Local Interest
Chappell, Sally A. Kitt.
Cahokia: mirror of the cosmos. 2002.
Education, Illinois Hist Survey [non-circulating]:
977.389 C368c
Harrod, Howard L., Becoming
and remaining a people : Native American religions on the Northern
Plains. 1995
Education: 306.699798 H249B
Melvin L. Fowler, et al.. The
Mound 72 area: dedicated and sacred space in early Cahokia. 1999.
Main Stacks: 507 M862x
Herring, Joseph B. Kenekuk,
The Kickapoo Prophet. 1988.
Education [circulating and non-circulating],
Illinois Hist Survey [non-circulating]: 978.00497 K356H
Marriott, Alice L.
Plains Indian Mythology. 1975.
Undergrad: 299.7 M34PL
Spiritual Practices of Specific Peoples
Education: 299.7994 C128
Holler, Clyde. Black
Elk's religion: the sun dance and Lakota Catholicism. 1995.
Education : 299.785 H722B
Loftin,
John Religion and Hopi Life in the 20th Century.
1991.
Education,
Undergrad: 299.784 L827R
Mooney, James The
Ghost Dance Religion 1965.
Education, Undergrad: 299.7 M77G1965
Undergrad, Stacks: 970.2 B56B11972
White, Phillip M (comp.).
The Native American Sun Dance religion and ceremony: an annotated
bibliography. 1998.
Education 016.2997 W585n
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait