Business & EconomicsLaw
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Translation Studies  Tags: translation_studies  

A guide to Translation Studies resources
Last update: Feb 23rd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/translationstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Resources             Print Page
  
 

Departmental Libraries

 

Useful search terms

Looking for translation materials in the Online Library Catalog, I-Share, or WorldCat? Try searching using these terms.

  • Translating and interpreting
  • Translating and interpreting -- Periodicals
  • Terminology
  • Encylopedias and dictionaries
  • Translators -- Periodicals
  • Terms and phrases -- Periodicals
 
 

General Reference Resources

Wordreference.com features several online language dictionaries, as well as the ability to ask questions and interact with a multi-lingual community when the exact definition isn't found.

Canada's governmental Translation Bureau offers 40 of its most current glossaries and dictionaries for free online. Most are in French and English, but some include equivalent terms in other languages, such as Spanish and Italian. 

Bibliography of Translation Studies, published in 1999, includes indexes and is useful for those looking for a bibliography if notable and influential works in translation studies until 1999.

  • Call Number: 016.41802 B47121999

Lexicool is a directory of online specialized dictionaries. First select the desired languages, then the subject, and check out all the freely available dictionaries online.

 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of literary translation into English by Olive Class is a two volume reference material that "includes articles about translations of the works of specific authors and also more general topics pertaining to literary translation."

  • Call Number: 809 EN198

Routledge encyclopedia of translation studies :  This encyclopedia has two parts. The first acts as an encyclopedia for translation studies as a scholarly discipline. In the newest edition new additions like globalization, censorship, and advertising appear. Part two discusesses the history of translation by linguistic region. Southeast Asian traditions is the one new entry in the 2009 edition.

  • Call Number: 418.0203 R765 2009
 

Online Databases

MLA- Literature Index is open for UIUC affiliates only. Literature based.

LLBA-Linguistics Index is open for UIUC affiliates only. Linguistics based.

Index Translationum is a free online resource for searching "books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979."

Directory of open access journals features free online publications. Simply search for "translation" or any other keywords you desire. 

 

Bibliographies

 

Subject Guide

Caroline Szylowicz
Contact Info:
Room 429
Main Library
Office Phone: 244-3092
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait