Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
chemical weapons
chemical warfare
biological weapons
biological warfare
biological & chemical weapons
incendiary weapons
military weapons
weapons of mass destruction
biotechnology
bioterrorism
biological arms control
arms control & disarmament
public health
security systems
national security
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) - Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, and government documents on political, social, public policy issues.
- World Wide Political Science Abstracts - Identifies articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
- Government Periodicals Universe - Identifies government periodicals from 1988-present.
- Military & Government Collection - Identifies current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
- TOXNET - A collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait