Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Condoms, Usage
Contraception
Hygiene, Sexual
Public Health
Sex Education for Youth
Sex Instruction for Teenagers
Sexual Ethics for Youth
Teenagers - Sexual Behavior
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Contemporary Women's Issues - Identifies publications on women's issues including political science, psychology, and reproductive rights, as well as contemporary cultural studies. Publication types include full text journals, newsletters, book reviews, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
- Current Contents- Identifies journal articles and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexing over 8000 top international journals in all scholarly disciplines, it provides access to journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, and editorials.
- Education Full Text (Wilson Web) - Identifies articles and books on all education topics. Note: Check the Education Full Text box at the top of the page before searching.
- Gender Watch - Indexes information in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more.
- Health Source (EBSCO)--provides access to consumer health literature including scholarly journals, general health care magazines, reference books, and pamphlets. For refereed materials choose the "Nursing/Academic Edition." Some full text.
- PsycINFO - Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects
- Social Science Citation Index - A multidisciplinary database covering journal literature of the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts - Identifies articles, conference papers, books and dissertations in sociology and related fields.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait