Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
You may wish to combine some of the terms below with "athletes" or the name of a particular sport, such as "baseball", or the name(s) of a particular athlete.
doping in sports
drug use
drug testing
steroid drugs
steroids
substance abuse
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Sport Discus - Includes popular and scholarly articles about sports medicine, exercise physiology, psychology, training techniques and related areas.
- Physical Education Index (CSA)- Scholarly, trade, and popular sources in all aspects of physical and health education and sports topics.
- Health Sources (EBSCO) - Health related sources geared towards health professional and consumers.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait