Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Drinking Age  Tags: ugl_subject_guide drinking_age underage_drinking ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Drinking Age.
Last update: Sep 02nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/drinkingage  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • CQ Researcher Online Research Resources This source presents an analysis of issues in the news in a non-biased way. The October 6, 2000 issue contains an article about Drunk Driving, it also has a chronology of the minimum legal drinking age debate.
  • Alcohol and Tobacco: America's Drugs of Choice 362.290973 Al 182001 This book is part of the Information Plus Reference Series. It presents the facts in a non-biased way so that the researcher can form their own opinions on the issue. There are entries concerning Age restrictions to alcohol and the accessibility of alcohol to minors.
  • Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol Q362.2903 EN19 This is a comprehensive source for non-experts. It is not a medical reference book but has articles on the "social policy, history, politics, economics, international trafficking, law enforcement, scientific and medical research, treatment and prevention of drug abuse, and epidemiology." The articles are written so that they can be understood by anyone who has taken a high school biology course. It includes many helpful entries on all types of topics related to the consumption of alcohol, including an articles on adolescents and alcohol use. There is also a section on the minimum drinking age laws.
  • Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: An International Encyclopedia Q362.29203 Al 183 This book strives to "present the history of the beverage alcohol as a commercial product, cultural icon, behavioral solvent, object of medicosociological research, and political issue." It contains an introduction to the Temperance movement and to Temperance societies which continue to influence policy today.
  • International Handbook on Alcohol and Culture 394.13 IN8 The author of this book is an anthropologist. He is looking at the ways different cultures view alcohol. This book covers Asia, Europe and the Americas. Some of the entries include descriptions of the drinking age in various cultures and the ways in which young people are introduced to alcohol.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait