Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Beauty standards
Eating disorders
Anorexia nervosa
Bulimia nervosa
Compulsive eating
Eating disorders Health aspects
Eating disorders Care and treatment
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Contemporary Women's Issues - Identifies publications on women's issues including political science, psychology, and reproductive rights, as well as contemporary cultural studies.
- PubMed - Identifies articles in basic and clinical biomedical research, psychology and other allied health fields. Articles may be technical in terminology, as the database is geared toward medical professionals.
- PsycINFO - Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects.
- Sociological Abstracts - Contains lots of scholarly journals articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait