Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Abused men/women
Child Abuse
Conjugal violence
Family violence
Victims of Family violence
Family law
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Sociological Abstracts - Includes articles in scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and other information covering pertaining to the field.
- PsycINFO - Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects.
- Social Services Abstracts – Includes scholarly journals, web resources, and dissertations in social work and related disciplines.
- PubMed- Identifies articles in basic and clinical biomedical research, psychology and other allied health fields.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait