Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Homeland Security
Antiterrorism
PATRIOT Act (sometimes USA PATRIOT Act)
Terrorism Prevention
Antiterrorism measures
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Sociological Abstracts - This database contains scholarly journals articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics. It is useful for finding information on controversial topics as well.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - This database identifies articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
- Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life - Homeland Security has been a controversial issue at other times in American History. If you are looking for a Historical perspective to this issue, this database could prove useful.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait