Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Media Bias  Tags: ugl_subject_guide journalism media_bias ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Media Bias.
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/mediabias  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Using Articles

Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:

  • Shorter length
  • Currency of information
  • Focus on a specific aspect of a topic 
 

Suggested Keywords

media
journalism
bias
prejudice
objectivity

Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information. 

Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.

 
 

Recommended Article Databases

General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
  • Sociological Abstracts - This database contains scholarly journals articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics. It is useful for finding information on controversial topics as well.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - This database identifies articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait