Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Natural Disasters  Tags: ugl_subject_guide natural_disasters disaster_relief ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Natural Disasters.
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/naturaldisasters  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • CQ Researcher Online Access; print copy in Undergraduate Periodicals. Database of reports on various issues which provide overview, background, current situation, outlook, and pros/cons of topics. Also features a bibliography for further research on your topic. Print or email the full-text of reports.
  • Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather 551.503 EN198 Lengthy introductory articles on weather related natural disasters. Each entry includes a bibliography.
  • Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes 551.203R51e2001 Brief entries on topics related to volcanoes and earthquakes.
  • Natural Disasters: Floods 363.34930973M613n Contains an overview of floods, how to prepare for one, and a list of organizations and print resources.
  • Natural Disasters: Hurricanes 551.552 F576n Contains an overview of what a hurricane is and how to prepare for one, information about specific hurricanes, and a list of organizations and print resources.
  • Severe and Unusual Weather 551.55 EA35s Chapters containing overviews on hurricanes, thunderstorms, blizzards, and other severe weather conditions.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait