Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
natural disasters
disaster relief
disaster victims
weather forecasting
disaster relief
disaster victims
weather forecasting
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Great source for newspaper articles. Click on "News" after entering database.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- ABI/INFORM (Proquest)- Information and impacts from business sources.
- Business Source Premier - Information and impacts from business sources.
- EBSCO Health Information - Information from a health perspective.
- PsycINFO - Sources for information about psychological impacts of disasters.
- Sociological Abstracts - Sociological impacts of disasters.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Provides articles on public administration/policy, international relations, and political economy.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait