Search Tips
| Database | Subject | Thesaurus | Relevant Terms |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Medline(PubMed)
National Library of Medicine (US NLM) http:www.nlm.nih.gov |
The major US medical database from the National Library of Medicine, available for free as PubMed or through library subscriptions as MEDLINE. Good for surgical or toxicological studies; also covers veterinary medicine, but not as well as CAB. 1960-present. | Medical subject headings (MeSH) |
Animal Testing Alternatives Animal Use Alternatives |
|
EMBASE
Elsevier Science, NL http://www.embase.com/ |
The major European medical database; particularly strong in European research and pharmaceuticals. 1974-present. | EMTREE | Animal Testing -Reduction -Alternatives -Refinement -Replacement |
|
AGRIS
United Nations Food & Agric. Org. (FAO) http://www.fao.org/agris |
An agricultural database from the FAO; good for research from developing countries; also does veterinary medicine. 1975-present. | AGROVOC | Animal Testing Alternatives |
|
CAB Abstracts
Commonwealth Agric. Bureau Int (CABI) UK http://www.cabi.org |
An agricultural database from CAB (formerly the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau); larger than AGRIS but also good for developing country research; the primary veterinary medicine database. 1910-present. | CAB Thesaurus | Animal Testing Alternatives |
|
AGRICOLA
National Agriculture Library (USDA) http://www.nal.usda.gov |
The major US agricultural database from the National Agriculture Library; includes veterinary medicine. 1970-present. | CAB Thesaurus | Animal Testing Alternatives Animal Use -Alternatives -Reduction -Refinement -Replacement |
|
BIOSIS Biological Abstracts Thompson Scientific |
Also known as Biological Abstracts; the main database for biological and non-clinical biomedical research. Unlike the other databases in this list, does not use controlled subject headings. Good for non-traditional research species.1970-present. | Taxonomic only |
Animal Testing Alternatives Animal Use -Alternatives -Reduction -Refinement -Replacement |
*Table adapted from: Grune, Barbara, et al. ALTEX 21, 3/04 p. 122
Subject Guide |
Veterinary Medicine LibraryDescription
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait