Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
No Child Left Behind
NCLB
Education law
Education legislation
Education regulation
Education and state
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Education Full Text - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
- Public Affairs Information Service - Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, government documents, and other resources on political, social, and public policy issues. Updated monthly.
- Sociological Abstracts - Identifies scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics. Useful for many Controversial Issues topics as well. Full Text, updated monthly.
- SocINDEX - Includes articles on several areas of sociology including politics, social psychology, and urban studies. Full text.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait