Off-campus access
Many of our electronic resources, such as e-books, are available to UIUC students, faculty, and staff when using a computer with a non-campus IP address and require netid / login to access. Just link to them from the Biology Library or University Library Web sites and you will be prompted for your netid / login.
Ask a Librarian
E-Book Collections
Many of these electronic books are part of packages or individual subscriptions that the University Library subscribes to, and require netid login/password when using them on a non-UIUC Campus computer. Some electronic books are freely available. Management of electronic books is still a work in progress and locating titles may require a search in more than one place. Many of the individual e-book titles are findable via the Online Library Catalog or the Online Research Resources (ORR) database. Some titles can only be reached through a link to the package itself. In this guide when this is the case a link from the title to the package is given. Once there the individual title can be located. For more information, see the guide's "Home" tab.
****************************************************************
- ACS Symposium Series and Advances in Chemistry e-books -- Coming in July 2009! Will be findable via the Library Online Catalog and major science indexes such as SciFinder Scholar.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library "Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions joined together to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections and make it available through a global "biodiversity commons." The digitized texts are being archived here." The University Library in collaboration with the Chicago Field Museum is "scanning and contributing to the Internet Archive all publications in the Museum's Fieldiana series. Fieldiana is a peer-reviewed monographic series published by the Field Museum of Natural History. Fieldiana focuses on mid-length monographs and scientific papers pertaining to its collections and research. The four series pertain to subject matter in the fields of anthropology, botany, geology, and zoology."
- Bookshelf from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) A collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly. Note: Newer print editions may be published. Check the Online Library Catalog, Illinois-Share, and WorldCat catalogs to locate newer editions, if available.
- Google Book Search Project The aim of this project is to scan and make electronically searchable over ten million books as part of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) /Google Book Search project. The University Library is a member of the CIC and over one million of its print volumes will be contributed to this project. Public domain works will be available full text. Basic information will be available for in-copyright volumes and in some cases snippets of text containing the search term(s). To get further access users will be directed to purchase avenues or library access. Includes fiction and non-fiction (inc. biology and chemistry).
- HathiTrust: A Shared Digital Repository -- IN PRODUCTION !! A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, including the University of Illinois Library! More information.
- Illinois Harvest Portal Project This is "a free public gateway combined with search, aggregation, and discovery services that provides organized and thematic access to digitized and born-digital collections about Illinois, research works by University of Illinois scholars, and the digital collections of The University of Illinois Library. All the digital content we are creating eventually will be accessible through Illinois Harvest." Also findable via the Library Online Catalog.
- MD Consult Click on Books button at top left of page to access over 50 medical books. All books may be searched across, or individual titles may be searched. Photos, tables, graphs, and images in books may be searched. Tables of contents and indexes may be browsed.
- Open Content Alliance Project The University Library is a member of the OCA, which "represents the collaborative efforts of a group of cultural, technology, nonprofit, and governmental organizations from around the world that will help build a permanent archive of multilingual digitized text and multimedia content." Current content subjects are Illinois history, culture and natural resources, U.S> railroad history, rural studies, agriculture, and works in translation. To find the digitized works, do a keyword search of "Open Content Alliance" in the Library Online Catalog. The CARLI state library consortium has joined with the OCA to digitize and provide e-access opportunitied for CARLI members (inc. UIUC Library).
- netLibrary Through netLibrary access is provided to over 2,100 e-books. From a Campus computer netLibrary can be directly accessed through the Library Online Research Resources via a search using the Reference Tools or All Resources tab, or by doing an Advanced Search in the Online Library Catalog <http://www.library.uiuc.edu/catalog/> using field terms of interest in two of the boxes and adding ‘netLibrary' to the third box and selecting ‘Publishers.‘ You may also create a netLibrary account and create a login/password while using a Campus computer, and then login directly to the netLibrary Web site at www.NetLibrary.org from an off-campus computer.
- ProQuest Digital Abstracts (Dissertation Abstracts) (1997- present) Contains full text; records begin 1861, abstracts begin from 1980) Doctoral dissertatiosn from institutions in U.S. and Canada. Requires email address. Link to the thesis full text will be provided through a URL which accesses a PDF. The PDF can then be saved or printed. Downloading may take several minutes. UIUC Library IRRC (Interlibrary Loan) can arrange for borrowing pre-1997 dissertations or others that cannot be obtained via ProQuest Digital Dissertations if available for loan. For more information see How do the Digital Dissertations and the Dissertation Express Service work? Also see Finding Dissertations from UIUC Central Reference Library.
- Royal Society of Chemistry e-books. This package provides access to 777 RSC e-books from approximately 1969 to the present. Full records for these books are in the LibraryOnline Catalog (to see them all, type in "RSC eBook Collection" as an author search). They are also searchable in SciFinder Scholar, with direct links to the full textavailable via the Discover button.
- Safari Tech Books Online Technology books from leading IT authors and publishers.
- ScienceDirect E-books available via ScienceDirect are not in the Online Library Catalog (OLC) or Online Research Resources (ORR) databases yet. To access titles we subscribe to from ScienceDirect click here. University of Illinois campus IPs will be recognized at ScienceDirect.com. To browse life sciences books, click on Life Sciences in the left hand column. From the next page unclick ‘Non-subscribed' and ‘Journals and Book Series' boxes; the items then browsed will then be only full-text books. You can then browse by titles by alphabet, or click ‘All' to browse. Examples: Animal Cognition in Nature; Biechnology, 2nd ed.; Brain Mapping: The Methods, 2nd ed.; Cell Biology, 3rd ed.; Drosophila; Ecology and Classification of North American Freshwater Invertebrates, 2nd ed.; Escherichia Coli; Functional Neurobiology of Functional Neurobiology of Aging; The Fungi, 2nd ed.; Genomic Regulatory Systems; Hormones, Brain and Behavior; Immunology Guidebook , 1st ed.; Integrative Plant Anatomy; Magnetobiology; Molecular Endocrinology; 3rd ed.; Nutritional Biochemistry, 2nd ed.; Peptides; and Wildlife Demography.
- Springer eBooks collection From the largest publisher of science, technology, and medicine books, Springer eBooks is the most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological, and medical book with over 11,500 titles available. Patrons can find Springer eBooks online through Easy Search (Search Assistant), the Library Online Catalog, and many of the Library's databases as well as through Google Book Search . Our University Library is one of 21 institutions chosen to participate in the MyCopy pilot project (and the first to go live online), which offers patrons the ability to purchase personal print copies of Springer eBooks copyright 2005 on, instantly from the title record, for $24.95 (inc. s&h).
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait