Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Electronic Books for Life Sciences  Tags: biology life_sciences electronic_books electronic_resources  

This guide presents electronic books in life sciences areas that are available through the University Library.
Last update: Feb 19th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/ebooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Sources for Reference Books             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus access

Many of our electronic resources, such as e-books, are available to UIUC students, faculty, and staff when using a computer with a non-campus IP address and require netid / login to access.  Just link to them from the Biology  Library or University Library Web sites and you will be prompted for your netid / login.

 

Ask a Librarian


For help just

 
 

General Sources for Reference Books

Many of these electronic books are part of packages or individual subscriptions that the University Library subscribes to, and require netid login/password when using them on a non-UIUC Campus computer.  Some electronic books are freely available.  Management of electronic books is still a work in progress and locating titles may require a search in more than one place. Many of the individual e-book titles are findable via the Online Library Catalog or the Online Research Resources (ORR) database.  Some titles can only be reached through a link to the package itself. In this guide when this is the case a link from the title to the package is given.  Once there the individual title can be located.  See the "Home" tab for more information.

****************************************************************

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library   GVRL contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas, including scientific, medical, and environmental ones.
  • Oxford Reference Online  Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.  It is fully-indexed and cross-searchable. 
  • UIUC Online Reference Collection  This collection links to many electronic dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other useful reference resources that are subscribed to by the Library. Must see !!

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDiane Schmidt
Contact Info:
Biology Library
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait