Off-campus access
Many of our electronic resources, such as e-books, are available to UIUC students, faculty, and staff when using a computer with a non-campus IP address and require netid / login to access. Just link to them from the Biology Library or University Library Web sites and you will be prompted for your netid / login.
Ask a Librarian
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Many of these electronic books are part of packages or individual subscriptions that the University Library subscribes to, and require netid login/password when using them on a non-UIUC Campus computer. Some electronic books are freely available. Management of electronic books is still a work in progress and locating titles may require a search in more than one place. Many of the individual e-book titles are findable via the Online Library Catalog or the Online Research Resources (ORR) database. Some titles can only be reached through a link to the package itself. In this guide when this is the case a link from the title to the package is given. Once there the individual title can be located. See the "Home"tab for more information.
****************************************************************
- Dictionary of Animal Behaviour via Oxford Reference Online
- Encyclopedia of Animals (EBSCO Animals Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. To use: Click on the link above and select "Change Databases". Select"EBSCO Animals"
- Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003 via Gale Virtual Reference Library
- The Encyclopedia of Underwater Life via Oxford Reference Online
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine , 2nd ed., 4v, 2005 via Gale Virtual Reference Library
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders , 2nd ed., 2v, 2006 via Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 17 vol. (2004) Available via Gale Virtual Reference Library
- The New Encyclopedia of Birds via Oxford Reference Online
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait