This is the "Home" page of the "History 498H: Obscenity, Censorship, and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 498H: Obscenity, Censorship, and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present   Tags: american_history, history  

Course guide.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=32258 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This course guide has two main purposes:

  1. To save you time in your research.
  2. To help make your research more successful.  

For much more in-depth information on conducting historical research, please visit our guide on Library Research for History Students.

If you have any questions about this guide, or about your research for this class, then please don't hesitate to contact us!

Mary Stuart
History Librarian
244-0797 | m-stuart (at) illinois.edu

Geoffrey Ross
Collections and Services Specialist
333-9558 | gtross (at) illinois.edu

©2009 Mary Stuart

 

Table of Contents

I. Literature Review
Introduces the concept of a literature review, and suggests methods for beginning one.
II. Books
Finding books using the Library's online catalog. Includes a section on digitized book collections. 
III. Locate a Book or Journal by Title
How to find available copies of a book or journal when you already know the title.
IV. Article Databases
Information on finding articles in scholarly journals using article indexes and full-text journal collections.
V. Newspapers
Covers sources for finding newspapers. Includes a section on alternative press publications.
VI. Reference Sources
Encyclopedias and biographies.
VII. Other Sources
More places to look for primary sources, and some strategies for when you run out of ideas. Includes a section on using the American Civil Liberties Union Archive.
VIII. Citing Your Sources
Information on using Chicago Style, and free citation management software.
 

Lend your Classmates a Hand. . .

Throughout the guide you will be able to leave comments, tips, or warnings for your classmates. Feel free to post notes that you think they might find useful.

Contact Us

Profile Image
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
246 Main Library
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip