Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

School Shootings  Tags: school_shootings ugl_subject_guide school_security ugl  

An Undergraduate Library Subject Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic School Shootings.
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/schoolshootings  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Background Sources

There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
 
 

Suggested reference sources

  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment 364.03 En193 (4 volumes) Provides a comprehensive entry: defining school violence, discussing prevention and intervention, in addition to identifuing risk factors and goals
  • Encyclopedia of Criminology 364.03 En1941 (3 volumes) The entry on Schools and Delinquent Behavior” highlights possible causes of school crime and policies for safe schools. Several entries on juvenile delinquency may also be of interest.
  • Encyclopedia of Education Q370.3 EN194 2003 (8 volumes).This is a comprehensive source on various issues that interact with education. Relevant entries include “Violence, children's exposure to,” “aggressive behavior,” “Juvenile crime and Justice”
  • Gangs: a Reference Handbook 364.10660973 K623G In addition to providing a comprehensive bibliography and several statistics on youth and violence, this source also considers different social factors and theories of violence.
  • Twentieth-century teen culture by the decades : a reference guide 305.2350973 R651t. Highlights school violence as a phenomena of the 1990s.
  • CQ Researcher This source presents an analysis of issues in the news in a non-biased way. The October 6, 2000 issue contains an article about Drunk Driving, it also has a chronology of the minimum legal drinking age debate.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageUndergraduate Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait