Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Social Security AND reform
Social Security Reform
Economic Security
Privatization
Social Security - Reorganization and Restructuring
Social Security - Management
Social Security taxes
Public Finance
Government securities
United States (this helps to narrow your search to US Social Security
policies)
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated weekly.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- Sociological Abstracts - Contains a lot of scholarly journal articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics and controversial issues.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Identifies articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
- AARP Ageline - Identifies articles and books on materials related to ageing and middle age.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate Library![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait