This is the "Home" page of the "History 495A: Incredible India?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 495A: Incredible India?   Tags: history, india  

A course guide.
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=33131 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This course guide has two main purposes:

  1. To save you time in your research.
  2. To help make your research more successful.  

For much more in-depth information on conducting historical research, please visit our guide on Library Research for History Students.

If you have any questions about this guide, or about your research for this class, then please don't hesitate to contact us!

Mary Stuart
History Librarian
244-0797 | m-stuart (at) illinois.edu

Geoffrey Ross
Collections and Services Specialist
333-9558 | gtross (at) illinois.edu

©2009 Mary Stuart

 

Table of Contents

I. Literature Review
What it is, and how to begin it.

II. Books
How to find books in both print and digitized formats. Introduces the Online Catalog: what the online catalog is, why you would use it, and how to use it most effectively.

III. Locating a Book or Journal Article by Title

IV. Article Databases
Information on finding articles in scholarly journals using article indexes and full-text journal collections.

V. Newspapers
Covers sources for magazines and newspapers. Includes a section on finding film reviews.

VI. Other Source Collections
Tips on finding other kinds of sources, like images. Includes a section on shelf browsing as a strategy for discovering material.

VII. Reference Sources
Covers sources like encyclopedias, almanacs, biographical information.

VIII. Citing Your Sources.
Information on how to manage your citations during the course of your research. Also covers compiling a bibliography using Chicago style.

 

Lend your Classmates a Hand. . .

Throughout the guide you will be able to leave comments, tips, or warnings for your classmates. Feel free to post notes that you think they might find useful.

Contact Us

Profile Image
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
246 Main Library
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip