This is the "Introduction" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote   Tags: learn, savvy_researcher  

An overview of EndNote bibliographic management software with detailed information on getting started and customizing your software.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is EndNote?

EndNote is software that allows you to keep track of your citations, organize them into folders, and create references and bibliographies in your papers.

You can:

  • Create your own searchable library of citations, often with links to full text or pdfs of articles
  • Search library databases (including the library catalog) from within EndNote, and import citations
  • Or search directly within the databases and export the citations you want
  • Use EndNote to easily format references and bibliographies in your papers to conform to styles used by hundreds of different journals

EndNote is similar to Refworks and Zotero, but it allows you to produce bibliographies in a greater number of citation styles and allows greater customization. It is particularly popular in the sciences.

Unlike these web-based applications, EndNote is not free, and requires download and installation. You can download a 30-day trial version from the Endnote website, or buy it from the University of Illinois WebStore.  

Click here for a graphic that provides a quick comparison of these citation management systems.

 

How to Use EndNote in 7 Minutes

How to use EndNote in 7 Minutes (made for EndNote X6, but basic operations remain the same in X7): http://youtu.be/L5Kn8l2rgqk

Scholarly Commons

Profile Image
Scholarly Commons
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
306 Main Library
Drop-ins welcome
Monday-Thursday 11am-7pm
Friday 11am-6pm
Phone: 217-244-1331
Send Email

Need help?

Profile Image
Erin Kerby
Contact Info
Veterinary Medicine Library
2001 S Lincoln Ave
1257 VMBSB, MC-002
Urbana, IL 61802
Send Email
Library profile page:
http://www.library.illinois.edu/people/bios/ekerb/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kelli Trei, Biosciences Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip