Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 495: Chicago: A Social History  Tags: chicago_history history american_history  

A guide to library resources.
Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/chicagohistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

VI. Miscellaneous Sources for Research            Print Page
  
 

On this page:

 
 

1. Reference Sources

Most of the works in this first section are print resources. Each title is linked to its catalog record, where you will find the most up-to-date holdings informaton.

Chicago in Periodical Literature: A Summary of Articles.
Compiled by the workers of the Writers’ Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of Illinois. (Chicago, 1940) A.977.31 W93c Main Stacks and Illinois Historical Survey.
Illinois History: An Annotated Bibliography.
Compiled by Ellen M. Whitney; edited by Janice A. Petterchak. (1995) 016.9773 W6121 History,Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Reference Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Undergraduate Library.
Guide to the History of Illinois.
Edited by John Hoffmann. (1991) 016.9773 G941 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Government Documents Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Law Library.
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography.
Edited by James P. Danky. (1998) Q.015.73035 Af83 Reference Library.
Newspapers and Periodicals of Illinois, 1814-1879.
By Franklin William Scott. (Springfield, Ill., 1910) A.071Sco3n Reference Library, Main Stacks, Illinois Historical Survey. Now available online as well.
American Newspapers, 1821-1936: A Union List of Files Available in the United States and Canada.
Edited by Winifred Gregory. (New York, 1967) Q.016.071 Am35 1967a Reference Library and History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library.
Index to Black Periodicals. 1984-
325.2605 Ind1a Reference Library earlier title: Index to Periodical Articles by and about Blacks (1973-1983) 325.2605 Ind1 Reference Library. Earlier title: Index to Periodical Articles by and about Negroes (1950-1972) 325.2605 Ind Reference Library Black Studies on Disc (CD-ROM) 1995- includes Index to Black Periodicals, 1989- Africana/Afro-Americana Library. Black Studies on Disc is now available online via the Citrix Web client.
Index to Black Newspapers. 1977-2007
016.0713 In2 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library. Contined by Black Newspapers Index.
Encyclopedia of Chicago.
Edited by James R. Grossman, Ann Durkin Keating, and Janice L. Reiff. (Chicago, 2004) Q.977.311003 En19 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Undergraduate Library. Available online at http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/
Ethnic Chicago: A Multicultural Portrait.
Edited by Melvin G. Holli and Peter d’A. Jones. 4th ed. (Grand Rapids, Mich., 1995) 305.800977311 Et35 1995 Reference Library, Illinois Historical Survey, History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library.
Women Building Chicago 1790-1990: A Biographical Dictionary.
Edited by Rima Lunin Schultz and Adele Hast. (Bloomington, Ind., 2001) 305.40977311 W842 Reference Library
Chicago since 1840: A Time-Series Data Handbook.
By Wesley G. Skogan. (1976) 309.177311 Sk5c Reference Library, Government Documents Library, Main Stacks, Illinois Historical Survey.
American Biographical Archive.
(London, 1986- ) MFICHE 920.07 Am35 (series 1). Continued by Series 2 and 3, with supplements: MFICHE 920.07 Am352 (series 2), supplement (ser. 1-2), and 920.07 AM3522 (series 3). All series and supplements are located in Central Reference.
 

2. Other

Chicago Reporter. (1972-1991)
305.896073 C432 Main Stacks
Local Community Fact Book: Chicago Metropolitan Area, 1990.
(also vols. for 1938, 1950, 1960, 1970/1980) Q.917.731 W74l 1990 Illinois Historical Survey
Jane Addams Papers. (1984)
82 reels of microfilm (with guide). The Hull House Association records are on reels 49-54. FILM 361.973 J253 Main Stacks and 361.973 J253 INDEX
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey.
[translated excerpts from ethnic press of Chicago, 1861 to 1938, transcribed onto 120,000 typewritten pages, arranged by original language and subjects. The excerpts were typed up and microfilmed. We have the original microfilm (67 reels) in the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library: FILM 070.484 C43ch The guide describes the classification scheme: 070.484 C434c The entire set is being digitized and deposited in the Internet Archive.]
 

3. Web Resources

Unrestricted access

Illinois Harvest
Internet Archive (UIUC content)
American Social History Online
Harvard's Open Collections
Women Working, 1800-1930
Immigration to the U.S., 1789-1930
Chicago History Museum
Encyclopedia of Chicago
Black Metropolis Research Consortium
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is an unincorporated Chicago-based association of libraries, universities, and other archival institutions with major holdings of materials that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago. The University of Chicago serves as Host Institution of the BMRC.
Homicide in Chicago, 1870-1930
Cook County Assessor's Virtual Office
University of Chicago, Uncovering Chicago Archives project
Illinois Newspaper Project
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives (1960-1974)

UIUC subscription database

Women and Social Movements, 1600-2000
Retrospective Reader's Guide
Heritage Quest (census enumeration forms)
American Periodical Series Online (includes some periodicals up to approx. 1930)
Historical Chicago Defender (1905-1975; actually 1910-1975)
Historical Chicago Tribune (1949-1985)
 

Contact Us

Profile ImageHistory, Philosophy and Newspaper Library
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
246 Main Library
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait