This is the "General" page of the "Latina/o Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latina/o Library Resources   Tags: america, hispanic, hispanic_american_studies, latin_america, latino  

A guide for studying Latinos/as at the UIUC Library
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/latino Print Guide RSS Updates

General Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias

Atlas of Hispanic-American history. George Ochoa and Carter Smith. New York: Facts On File, 2009.
E184.S75 O287 2009 (Undergrad Library)

Encyclopedia Latina: history, culture, and society in the United States. Ilan Stavans, editor in chief, Harold Augenbraum, associate editor. Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2005. 4 vols.
E184.S75 E587 2005 (Undergrad  Library)

Encyclopedia of Latino popular culture. Cordelia Chávez Candelaria, executive editor. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004. 2 vols.
973.0468003 En192 (Main Stacks)

Latino America : a state-by-state encyclopedia. Edited by Mark Overmyer-Velázquez; foreword by Stephen Pitti. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008. 2 vols.
E184.S75 L35555 2008 (Undergrad Library)

The Latino encyclopedia. Edited by Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 5 vols.
E184.S75 O97 2005 (Undergrad Library Ref)


The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Edited by Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González. New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. 4 vols.

E184.S75 O97 2005 (Undergrad Library Reference) or online at: Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

 

Also search the Library Catalog for Hispanic Americans- Encyclopedias

 

About This Guide

The tabs in this guide contain selected sources to help in researching issues, articles, books and other information related to Latinos/as.  

  • When searching in the Library Catalog or Library databases be flexible with your terms and include alternate phrases.  For example, in the Library catalog the subject term "Hispanic Americans" is used as a subject term.  Also try narrower terms such as Cuban Americans and art; Puerto Ricans and Health.
  • It is also possible to use keywords to search for Latinos and....  
  • This page provides a few background sources to get started, such as encyclopedias, data sources, biographies and other centers.
 

Data Sources


Hispanic Databook: detailed statistics and rankings on the Hispanic population, including 23 ethnic backgrounds from Argentinian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S.counties and cities. Editor, David Garoogian. Millerton, NY : Grey House Pub., 2004.
305.868021 H62512004 (Oak Street Request onlyThe 2012 edition is on order (2/2014)

Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and whites. The New strategist editors. Ithaca, N.Y.: New Strategist Publications, 2009.  Previous 2006 version available in Main Stacks
305.800973 R912o2009 (Communications Library Reference)

Birth and fertility rates for states by Hispanic origin subgroups: United States, 1990 and 2000 : data on natality, marriage, and divorce

For more statistics, go to Gov Docs Statistics

 

Biographies

Biographical dictionary of Hispanic Americans. Nicholas E. Meyer. New York : Checkmark Books, 2001.

920.009268 M575b2001 (Communications Library Reference  or E184.S75 M49 2001 Undergraduate Library)

Latino athletes. Ian C. Friedman. New York: Facts on File, c2007.
GV697.A1 F696 2007 (Undergraduate Library)

Great lives from history. Latinos.
Tafolla, Carmen & Cotera, Martha. Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2012.
E184.S75 G75 2012 (Undergraduate Library)

Latinos in science, math, and professions. David E. Newton. New York: Facts on File, c2007.
509.2273 N482l (Main Atacks)

For other biographies, see other sections (i.e. Latino/a art for artists) and search the Library Catalog for
Hispanic Americans - Biography.

Contact Information

For Research Help

please contact:

Image of Lori Mestre

Lori Mestre

Head, Undergraduate Library

lmestre@illinois.edu

 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip