This is the "FSHN Home" page of the "Dietetics, Food Science & Human Nutrition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dietetics, Food Science & Human Nutrition   Tags: dietetics, food, food_science, human_nutrition  

Resources for the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/fshn Print Guide RSS Updates

FSHN Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

  • Course Reserves
    Search for print or online course reserves.
  • Online Catalog
    Find books and journals at the UIUC Library.
  • Online Journals and Databases
    Search for article databases, electronic journals, image collections, statistical sources, dissertations, and more.
  • Theses and Dissertations
    Search for theses or dissertations. Also find Illinois theses and dissertations in the Library catalog, or the IDEALS digital repository (www.ideals.illinois.edu).
  • Agricultural Communications Documentation Center
    Search this ACES Library special collection for journal articles, pamphlets and web-articles on agricultural communications from 1950 to today.
  • University Extension
    The University of Illinois branch of the nationwide Cooperative Extension System. Provides education and information resources
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Funk ACES Library resource site for Food Science & Human Nutrition at the University of Illinois. The tabs above will take you to a variety of resources for students and professionals in the FSHN field. Additional major and concentration specific resources can be located in the drop down menu of the FSHN Majors and Concentratons tab. Please place any comments or suggestions in the comment box below. Thank you for using the Funk ACES Library website.

If you are an instructor in FSHN at UIUC and you would like to see additional resources or setup a class site, please email the Funk ACES Library. Thank you.  

 

 

Fun with Foods -- Culinary Sites and other Sites of Interest

Popular Food Literature and Reviews

  • Chicago Tribune Food:
    Newspaper section publishing restaurant reviews, recipes, and topical interest articles.
  • Cooks Illustrated:
    Magazine publishing recipes, cooking techniques, and equipment reviews.
  • Global Gourmet:
    Bi-weekly e-magazine containing cookbook reviews, recipes, and articles and reviews on food and wine. It also has a searchable archive.
  • Saveur Magazine:
    Magazine publishing content on recipes, food, drinks and travel.
  • Vegetarian Times:
    Magazine publishing vegetarian recipes, lifestyle information, and resources for new vegetarians.
  • Wine Spectator:
    Magazine publishing wine reviews, wine culture and wine tasting education.

Culinary Research Resources

  • Food Timeline:
    Food history and period recipes from the Morris County Library in New Jersey.
  • International Vegetarian Union:
    Resource for information on all aspects of vegetarianism. Search by global region on various topics like history, publications, or accomodation. A large pool or resources to begin research.

Food Preparation, Recipes and Beverages

  • BBC - Food:
    Recipes and techniques from the BBC. An illustrated glossary of foods can be found on the ingredients tab.
  • CocktailDB:
    A database of 4733 recipes that allows you to search by drink names or names of ingredients.
  • Home Wine Making:
    Information on viticulture and enology at the University of California Davis.
  • Recipes Folder:
    A collection of vegetarian and non-vegetarian recipes and links to vegetarian information and other online recipe collections.
  • Recipe Source:
    Formerly SOAR (Searchable Online Archive of Recipes). A large archive of recipes of all descriptions, searchable by ethnic region and by type of dish.
  • VegWeb:
    Provides access to vegetarian recipes, articles, newsletters and coupons.

Menu Collections

  • Alice Statler Library:
    Menu collection at the City College of San Francisco focusing on San Francisco and Northern California.
  • Conrad N. Hilton Library:
    Menu colletion at the Culinary Institute of America with more than 25,000 menus from over 80 countries.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Isaac Funk Family Library
Contact Info
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Circulation Phone: 217-333-2416
Reference Phone: 217-244-2249
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip