Getting started
Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
There are myriad music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Depending on what topic you are researching you may need a very specialized one or a more general one. A few of the best general ones are listed below.
- Dictionary of Music Education - Ely, Mark
Call Number: MPAL Reference MT1 E49D5 - New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (print and online)
Call Number: Ready Reference ML100 G76N38 2001 - Harvard Dictionary of Music (print), 4th ed. - Ed. Don Michael Randel
Call Number: Ready Reference ML100 A63H27 2003 - New Grove Dictionary of American Music - ed. H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie
Call Number: MPAL Reference ML101.U6 N38
Music Encyclopedia Articles
Articles on particular aspects of music education can be found in the encyclopedias listed above. Below are a few to get you started.
Anderson, Warren et al. “Education in Music.” in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. MPAL Ready Reference ML100 G76 N38 2001
For historical perspective, also see same article in earlier editions (1980) of the Grove Dictionary
Colwell, Richard, et al. “Education in Music.” in The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. MPAL Ready Reference ML101 U6N38 1986
“Education in the United States.” in The New Harvard Dictionary of Music. MPAL Ready Reference ML100 A63 H27 2003
General Education Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These texts are available from the Education library (100 Main Library).
- Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement: An International Handbook
Call Number: Education Reference 370.78 Ed8355 1997
This handbook provides a wealth of information, written by experts in the field of education, on subjects such as: methods of educational inquiry, educational research methodology, and measurement in educational research. - The Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: Education Reference Q.370.3 En193 2003
This eight-volume encyclopedia provides detailed explanations for many of the terms and concepts related to the study of education. In addition to the general information provided by this source, its 8th volume provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements that have influenced the history of education. - Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Call Number: Education Reference 370.3 En192 1992
This four-volume encyclopedia set has been produced to enlighten readers on matters relating to educational research. - Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Call Number: Education Reference 370.3 G856
Recently published (2003), and containing over 2600 terms, this source is the first comprehensive dictionary of education created in over a quarter of a century.
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganMusic and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait