Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music Education Resources (Music 533)  Tags: music education music_education  

Resources for Music Education students
Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/musiceducation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles             Print Page
  
 

Journal tools

Journal articles offer detailed looks at very specific topics. In order to find the article(s) that will be useful within the hundreds of journals available, journal databases allow you to search by keywords or other information. These databases index journals beyond those held at UIUC. While many articles are available online or available in print in our libraries, those that are not can be ordered through InterLibrary Loan (see "Getting full text" below.)

Other resources

There are many general education journals and resources that may be of use to you.

 
 

Journal databases

These journal databases are the best starting point for finding articles relating to music education.

Education Full Text 

Periodicals, books, dissertations, etc are indexed in the field of education.

ERIC 

Periodicals, books, dissertations, etc are indexed in the field of education.

Institute for Music Research (CAIRSS and TDML)

The Institute for Music Research came into being as one of the UTSA Strategic Initiatives approved for 1991-92. It was established to promote research in the areas of music psychology and music technology. Current activities are divided into six categories: Online Services, Conferences, Research, Publications, Presentations,and a Ph.D. proposal. CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Citations have been taken from 1,354 different journal titles; 18 of which are primary journals, meaning that every article ever to appear is included. TDML (Technological Directions in Music Learning) is an ejournal; a forum for new concepts in the application of technology to all facets of music learning.

Music Index 

A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Over 690 international music periodicals are indexed.

PsycInfo  

PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including education. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to dissertations and over 1400 journals in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.

RILM

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.

 

Journals

These are several of the journals available concerning music education. They are indexed in some or all of the databases listed above and may have content available online. If not available online, they can be accessed in print in the Music and Performing Arts Library.

Australian Journal of Music Education. 1969 –
British Journal of Music Education. 1984 –
The Bulletin of Historical Research in Music Education. 1980 –
Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education. 1963 –  (shelved under "C")
Canadian Music Educator. 1959 –
Contributions to Music Education. 1972 –
International Journal of Music Education. 1983 –
Journal of Research in Music Education. 1953 –
Kodaly Envoy. 1981 –
Missouri Journal of Research in Music Education. 1989 –
Music in Early Childhood. 1991 –
Music Educator’s Journal [MENC]. 1934 –
Orff Echo. 1968 –
The Quarterly Journal of Music Education. 1990 –
Southeastern Journal of Music Education. 1989 –
Update: Applications of Research in Music Education. 1982 –

 

Getting full text

Finding citations is the easy part, now for the fun of actually locating the items you want to read. Unfortunately, there is no one-size-fits-all solution to this. You may need to use some or all of the steps outlined below, depending on the item for which you are searching. 

 

1. Online

If you located an item because you were searching in RILM or another journal database, you should look for a link that says "Full text" or "Discover UIUC full text linking." This will, in the first case, open the full text file, or, in the second case, open another window that will list online full text options for this title. A word to the wise, this "Discover" service is not 100% accurate. If you are searching for online options for a journal title, always check the library catalog and the ORR, which will list the online sources for that title. Some journals are indexed in many databases, but the dates covered and full-text availability may vary from database to database.

2. In print

If there is no online source for a journal, search the library catalog to discover what print holdings are available at UIUC. 

3. ILL 

If there are no online or print holdings at UIUC, place an IShare or ILL request for the article (see the "Beyond UIUC" tab of this guide).  Be sure you include complete information, especially page numbers. 

Related stories

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKirstin Dougan


Contact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email

Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait