Contents
Dictionaries
Biographical Information
Research Guides
Titles
Online Tools
- Metropolitan Opera History An Introduction to the Metropolitan Opera
Timeline of Metropolitan Opera History
Sounds of the Met
MetOpera Database
Stories of the Operas
Photo Archive
Popular Song
For more information about popular song and musical theatre, see our guide titled Finding Popular Songs.
Dictionaries
There are myriad music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Depending on what topic you are researching you may need a very specialized one or a more general one.
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (print and online)
Call Number: Ready Ref ML100 G76N38 2001
Available online as Grove Music Online via Oxford Music Online (click this link). - International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)
- Language Pronunciation Guides
Biographical Information
Fairly self-explanatory, these dictionaries only have entries for people. Grove is also a great place to start, but if you need more, try these.
- Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians - ed. Nicholas Slonimsky
Call Number: Ready Reference ML105 B16 B5 1992 - Concise biographical dictionary of singers
Call Number: Reference ML400 K87 1969 - Dictionnaire des chanteurs de l'Opera de Paris
Call Number: Reference ML1727.8.P2 G68 - The encyclopedia of the musical theatre - Gänzl, Kurt
Call Number: ML102.M88 G262001 (Reference)
3 vols - Grosses Sangerlexikon
Call Number: Reference ML105 K83 G7 1997 - The Harvard biographical dictionary of music
Call Number: Reference ML105 H27
Also available online (click this link).
Research Guides
If you need an overall guide to how to research vocal music, these tools are all great, depending on your specific need. They can lead you to other books about your song/topic.
You can also look for a "guide to research" or bio-bibliography for the specific composer or type of music in which you are interested.
- The art song : a research and information guide - Douglass Seaton
Call Number: Reference ML128.S3 S33 - Choral music : a research and information guide - Sharp, Avery T.
Call Number: Reference ML128.C48 S53 - Library resources for singers, coaches, and accompanists: an annotated bibliography, 1970-1997 - Ruthann Boles McTyre
Call Number: Reference ML128.V7 M37 - The musical : a research and information guide - Everett, William A
Call Number: Reference ML128.M78 E94 - National Association of Teachers of Singing website
- Opera : a research and information guide - Marco, Guy A.
Call Number: Reference ML128.O4 M27O62001 - Researching the song: a lexicon
Call Number: Reference ML102.S6 E46
Titles
Sometimes pieces have "nicknames" or names that they are commonly referred to by, but these may not be the "real" name of the work. If you are having a hard time tracking down a piece, you might have to do a little research to see if it has another (real) name.
- Cross index title guide to classical music
Call Number: Reference ML113 P24C76 - Cross index title guide to opera and operetta
Call Number: Reference ML128.O4P35 - Music titles in translation: a checklist of musical compositions
Call Number: Reference ML111 H62M8 - Popular titles and subtitles of musical compositions, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Reference ML113 B37P66
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganMusic and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait