Staying current
To stay abreast of new developments:
- Watch the Web
--- Monitor websites that track the news in targeted areas of interest, such as:
HINT: News sites often allow you create email notifications or RSS feeds based on a search you've done or a pre-determined subject category. You'll need to register with the website, but it's usually free.
--- Use Google Web Alerts or a similar service to receive email updates when new information on topics you specify appears on the web.
HINT: To avoid information overload, think carefully about the keywords you use. Test your alert to be sure it retrieves the type of information you're seeking.
--- Use Watch That Page, ChangeDetection, or a similar service to receive email updates when new information is posted to web pages chosen by you.
HINT: To avoid information overload, choose web pages carefully for this service. Test the page watch to be sure it retrieves the type of information you're seeking.
--- Monitor relevant blogs.
HINT: Find links to relevant blogs at dmoz: Open Directory Project, Google's directory of LIS blogs, Technorati, and similar sites.
HINT: Use a free blog reader, such as Bloglines or Google Reader, to bring together RSS feeds from your favorite blogs in one spot.
HINT: Use LibWorm or LIBZEN to search across selected library-related RSS feeds from blogs, podcasts, and other web sites.
- Sign up for the email lists and newsletters of advocacy organizations or professional groups with an interest in the topic.
HINT: On controversial issues, monitor organizations with different perspectives. For example, the American Library Association, the Association of American Publishers, the Recording Industry Association of America, and the Electronic Frontier Foundation have varying views on copyright and fair use.
- Create alerts in relevant article databases.
--- Create an alert in LISA (Library & Information Science Abstracts)
HINT: To use this feature in the LISA database, you must first create a personal account by clicking on "Please log in to My Research."
HINT: Conduct a search in LISA as usual. Then click on 'Alert Me' in the upper center of the screen and log in. Choose email or RSS for delivery. Each time the database is updated, information about new records in the database will be sent to you.
--- Create an alert in Library Literature & Information Science Full-Text .
HINT: To use this feature in the LIbrary Lit database, you must first create a personal account by clicking on "My WilsonWeb."
HINT: Conduct a search in Library Lit as usual. Then click on 'Create Alert' and complete the form. On a regular basis, information about new records in the database will be emailed to you.
HINT: You can also save alerts as RSS feeds.
--- Create an alert in LISTA and/or other EBSCO databases.
HINT: Conduct a search as usual. Remember that you can search multiple Ebsco databases simultaneously (for example, Academic Search Premier + Newspaper Source + Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts). Click on the 'Create alert for this search.'
HINT: For delivery via RSS, copy and paste the provided feed link into your RSS reader. For delivery via email or to change other parameters, such as frequency of alerts, create an account and log in.
Subject Guide |
Sue Searing![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
310 Main Library, MC-522
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-333-4456
244 LIS Building, MC-493
501 East Daniel Street
Champaign, IL 61820-6211
Send Email
Subjects:
Library and information sciences
Subject Guide |
Sandy Wolf312 Main Library, MC-522
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
Email: swolf2@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3804
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait