Book review journals
This is the "Home" page of the "Library and Information Science 404 - Literature and Resources for Young Adults" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Science 404 - Literature and Resources for Young Adults   Tags: children, library_and_information_science, library_science  

Describes online and print information sources on YA books and authors.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/LIS404 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Services for LIS

244 LISB

217-333-3804

For LEEP: 800-252-1360 ext.33804

Dan Tracy, Librarian  101-B SSHEL

Sandy Wolf, Library Operations Assoc.  101 Main Library

 

Librarian's Office Hours

GSLIS Room 244 (next to IT Help Desk) or online

Fall  2014

August 25-December 11

Monday 11:30am-1:30pm

Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-1:00pm

-----------------------------------------------

Hours may vary during LEEP on-campus sessions.  If these times are not convenient for you, please email lislib@library.illinois.edu or call Dan Tracy (217-300-8439) or Sandy Wolf (217-333-3804) to schedule an appointment.

 

 

Social Science, Health, and Education Library

 

100 and 101 Main Library

217-244-1864

Hours

 

The Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library holds a very large collection of books written for children and young adults, plus books, journals and other resources about literature in the K-12 classroom.

 

Center for Children's Books

 

 Ground Floor

Graduate School of Library & Information Science

501 East Daniel St.

217-244-9331
email: ccb@illinois.edu

 Hours

The Center for Children's Books holds a non-circulating collection of classic and current books for young readers. 

 

 

 

About This Guide

Students and practiciing librarians seek information about young adult literature for varied purposes.  You might be looking for good books to recommend to a reluctant teen reader.  You might need reviews and other resources to counter a book challenge.  You might be creating a thematic reading promotion event, or planning a book talk, or just looking for a good, quick read.

The resources spotlighted in this guide were selected to help you complete assignments in LIS 404, Literature & Resources for Young Adults, as well as support your independent exploration of YA literature. 


Last update:  March 3, 2012.

 

Online Databases

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

This database includes bibliographic records for over a million children's and YA books, enhanced with full-text book reviews and other information.

 

LIS databases:

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

    These two databases are on the EbscoHost platform and may be searched simultaneously. 

Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)

    This database is on the ProQuest platform.

 

Education databases:

Education Full Text

ERIC

 

Literature databases:

MLA International Bibliography

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dan Tracy, Visiting Librarian for Library and Information Science and Research Support Services

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sandy Wolf
Contact Info
101 Main Library, MC-522
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801

Email: swolf2@illinois.edu
Phone: (217) 333-3804
Send Email

SSHEL

Profile Image
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
SSHEL North (Room 100) & SSHEL South (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305
Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip