Video: Find Books
Video: Finding Movies and Games
Video: Ask a LibrarianVideo: Using Your Library Account
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute  Tags: olli community_guide  

A library guide for OLLI members.
Last update: Oct 24th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/olli  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Collection             Print Page
  

Online Reference Resources

These resources came from the University Library's Online Reference Collection. Please visit the portal for many more resources on biography, book reviews, dissertations, literary criticism, and much more!

Online Reference Collection

  • Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations Dictionary  
      
    Features definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions that allows users to quickly and easily translate terms into their full names or meanings. New terms include medicine.
  • American National Biography  
      
    Contains 17,435 biographical articles on deceased Americans from the 1999 print edition. The ANB includes men and women that were significant in politics, scholarship, science, sports, business, theater, film, and activism.
  • AnyWho Online Directory (AT&T)  
      
    Locate telephone numbers and addresses for both businesses and people. Other notable features include maps, reverse lookups (enter the phone number and it will return the owner's name and address), a toll-free directory, and links to international directo
  • Bartlett's Familiar Quotations  
      
    Search the 1919 edition for passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature.
  • Calculators & Converters  
      
    Calculate the distance between two cities, perform metric conversions, calculate inflation, and more.
  • CIA World Factbook  
      
    Unclassified since 1971, the Central Intelligence Agency's annual World Factbook provides a reliable resource for information on independent states, dependencies, areas of special sovereignty, uninhabitable regions, and oceans.
  • Credo Reference  
      
    Credo Reference offers over 160 fully searchable reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
  • EIU Country Intelligence  
      
    In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from the most reliable sources and reviewed by analysts.
  • Farmer's Almanac  
      
    Electronic version of North America's oldest continuously published almanac includes weather forecasts, sunrise and ocean tide tables, gardening advice, historical facts, household advice and classified ads.
  • Find People at UIUC  
      
    Search by name or Net ID.
  • Gallup Brain  
      
    The Gallup Brain is a comprehensive collection of current and archived polls taken by the Gallup Organization since 1935.
  • HowtoCallAbroad.com  
      
    International calling instructions, country codes, area codes, and phone books.
  • Information Please Almanac  
      
    The online version contains all of the facts from the printed almanac, plus a dictionary and encyclopedia.
  • Marquis Who's Who  
      
    Features over 1.3 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports.
  • Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus  
      
    See Merriam-Webster Online for a good quick reference site from an authority in dictionary publishing.
  • New York Review of Books  
      
    Lengthy reviews from the well-respected print publication. The keyword-searchable archive covers 1983 to the present, but the full text of many articles is only accessible to subscribers.
  • NoveList  
      
    NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles from its database of over 135,000 works.
  • The Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    The definitive record of the English language. Chronological examples of usage make it especially good for researching the historical development of words.
  • Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive  
      
    Contains essays on authors from all eras and genres. In addition to providing biographical and critical studies written by scholars and academics, DLB presents bibliographic information about each author's writings as well as sources for further reading.
  • UIUC Campus and University Information  
      
    Includes finance and statistics, governance, human resources, student information, the Bronze Tablet Award and other source of campus information.
  • United States Postal Service Address and ZIP Code Information  
      
    Find the ZIP+4 code for a given address (or the community name, if you know the ZIP).
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait