Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
Same-sex marriage
Gay couples
GLBT marriage
Civil unions
Marriage law
Gays & lesbians
Marriage
Constitutional amendments
Try various combinations of the keywords above as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- GLBT Life – Identifies publications focusing on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues; contains many full text articles.
- Gender Watch – Identifies publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Alternative Press Index – Identifies full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative and independent press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch – Identifies full text access for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait