Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's Reference Collection. Those listed on this page provide excellent starting points for your research. If you need help identifying other sources, Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources
- CQ Researcher Online access, print copy in Undergraduate periodicals. Provides topic overviews, background, current relevance and issues, bibliography for further research.
- Current Issues - Q306.0973 C936 – Articles covering issues that students encounter in schoolwork, the media, and everyday conversations. Entry under ‘Homelessness,’ includes brief history and related legal information.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture - 973.9203 En194 c.2 - Articles that offer overviews of “fundamental issues” in American culture and society. Entry on homelessness, includes further reading suggestions.
- The Encyclopedia of the Environment - 363.7003 En19 – Reflects the relationship between humans and the environment. Entries for ‘Homelessness- Causes’ and ‘Homelessness- Urban Environment’, includes further reading suggestions.
- Encyclopedia of Sociology - Q301.03 En199 2000 – Articles about a variety of sociological topics written for a broad range of literate people. Indexed entry on ‘Homelessness,’ entry includes references.
- Issues & Controversies On File - 973.05 IS – Issued twice-monthly, has a compilation of news analysis and background information on current issues. Indexed under ‘Housing and the Homeless’, includes bibliography and additional sources.
- Social Issues - Q301.03 Sol3- Includes articles about a variety of social issues faced today. Entry on ‘Homelessness,’ includes bibliography.
- Social Issues in America - Q361.97303 So1323- Examines the complex issues facing society today (2006). Entry on ‘Homelessness,’ includes timeline, breakdown by gender and race, glossary of related terms, several important related documents, web sites, and references.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait