Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
The Undergraduate Library suggests that users try out several searches, using different combinations of search terms (or keywords). For example, combine the search term, "xxxx," with any of the following search terms, depending on which aspects of xxxx you would like to research." Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Homelessness
Homeless
Homeless Persons
Public Welfare
Recommended Article Databases
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service (CSA) - Covers political, social, and public policy issues. Contains international information and some non-English sources.
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA) - Lots of scholarly journals articles, dissertations, books, and other information covering a wide variety of sociology topics. Useful for many Controversial Issues topics as well.
- SocINDEX (EBSCO) - Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
Subject Guide |
Undergraduate LibraryOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Reference and Research Questions - (217) 333-8589
Information Services (Front Desk) - (217) 333-3477
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait