Links
- American Ballet Theatre Online Ballet Dictionary This reference tool includes definitions of major ballet terms as well as video demonstrations of some movements.
- An American Ballroom Companion Dance Instruction Manuals ca. 1490-1920 "An American Ballroom Companion presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress ... Along with dance instruction manuals, this online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, and items from other conceptual categories. Many of the manuals also provide historical information on theatrical dance."
- Artslynx International Dance Resources
This comprehensive site offers original material, as well as links to many other resources (libraries, publishers, school/studio directories, organizations, software, funding agencies, etc.). - Congress on Research in Dance
CORD’s purpose is “to encourage scholars in dance to research, publish, and discuss material from all areas of dance.” - CyberDance
A collection of over 3,500 links to classical ballet and modern dance resources on the Internet. Divided into the following subject categories: companies, education, news and information, people and organizations, and international. - Dance Manuscripts at the Newberry Library, Chicago Descriptions of the dance manuscript collections at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
- Dance Notation Bureau
Gives description and examples of labanotation, a type of dance notation which uses symbols to capture dance steps. This site includes the DNBulletin as well as a link to DNB publications through Princeton Book Company. - George Balanchine Research Foundation Research Resources This guide concentrates primarily on George Balanchine's work for the ballet stage. See notes about Balanchine's work for Broadway and films at the end of the list.
- NYPL Digital Collections This site has links to multiple dance related resources including Treasures from the Cia Fornaroli Collection, the Claire Holt Collection of Indonesian Dance and Related Arts, and Dance in Photographs and Prints.
- Society of Dance History Scholars
This not-for-profit organization is dedicated to promoting study, research, discussion, performance, and publication in dance history and related fields. The site provides current information about the society, gives news of forthcoming events, and provid - The Dancing Master 1651-1728 An Illustrated Compendium The website brings together information from various publications on English country dances and tunes from the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries.
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganContact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait