Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Big Read: The Death of Ivan Ilyich  Tags: slavic literature  

A guide to online resources in English about Tolstoy's "Death of Ivan Ilyich"
Last update: Oct 31st, 2008 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/ivanilyich  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Film Buffs             Print Page
  
 

Film Buffs

Ikiru and Philadelphia respond differently to the meaning of life, illness and dying. How would you compare the novel and the two films? Explore other films that treat these questions, and create a brief film treatment of your own, based on The Death of Ivan Ilyich. Archive the results.


Research tips: Be sure to check the suggestions under "Searching for Tolstoy", "Google Books", "Another Approach", "Media", and "Biography and Bibliography" if you are having trouble getting started.


Still image from Akira Kurosawa's IKIRUOne of the best places to start for information on films on any topic is IMDB on the web. If you have never used this source you might want to look at the online presentation by Merinda Hensley.

For reviews/discussions of the films the following resources should be helpful

Academic Search Premier
Enter movie title (and director/actor names if appropriate) in search boxes. Select "Entertainment Review" in the Document Type section toward the bottom of the page.

Periodical Abstracts
Enter title into search box and select the appropriate type of review from the Article Type options . (Audio Review, Book Review, Movie Review, Performance Review, Television Review, Video Review, etc.)

Film Review Annual 791.437 F4873 Undergrad Reference.
Covers 1982-Present. Includes reviews from major popular publications for films released in a specific year. Not intended to be comprehensive, it covers big releases.

Magill's Cinema Annual 791.4375 M2722 Undergrad Reference.
Covers 1982-Present. Includes a list of reviews as well as information about the film.

New York Times Film Reviews Q791.43 N48 Undergrad Reference.
Covers 1913-present. Good historical source for film reviews.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slavic Reference Service

Profile ImageSlavic Reference Service


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL
217-333-1349
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference, Slavic

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait