User Recommended Links
Have you found a website or discussion board that fits this topic? Feel free to share those here!
- Best digital camera to use in archives? by Nathan YDiscussion of tripods and whether or not a great camera is key to quality photos.
- How To Reduce Camera Shake by Amanda HBlog entry "explores 6 ways you can hand hold lenses at low apertures and low shutter speeds and still avoid blurry images"
- Instructables: Portable, Paperless, Digital Copy Machine by Amanda HStep by step instructions to build a tripod for a digital camera
Comments
Websites
Websites with useful information about using technology in archives.
- George Mason University's Electronic Researcher Guide
Dated 2004; Somewhat out-of-date, there is still some good information here. - Digital History Hacks
Turkel, William J. Digital History Hacks: Methodology for the Infinite Archive. [Weblog.] - Dan Cohen's Blog
The Director of the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and a historian who explores—and tries to influence through theory, software, websites, and this blog—the impact of computing on the humanities.
Articles
- "Amateur digitization for academics, updated"
Updated January 2008; blog post by an historian who has used a camera in archives. Full of good tips and some pictures. - "Fieldnotes: Photographing Archival Materials."
Nakamura, Karen. "Fieldnotes: Photographing Archival Materials." Blog entry for August 7, 2005. - "Historical Research in the 'Digital Era' Techniques, and the more obvious pros and cons."
Fuller, Howard J. "Historical Research in the 'Digital Era' Techniques, and the more obvious pros and cons." Journal for Maritime Research, April 2003. - "Machines in the Archives: Technology and the Coming Transformation of Archival Reference."
Cox, Richard J. and the University of Pittsburgh archives students. "Machines in the Archives: Technology and the Coming Transformation of Archival Reference." First Monday: Volume 12 Number 11 - 5 November 2007. - "Scholars Take Notes by the Megapixel, but Some Librarians Object."
Carlson, Scott. "Scholars Take Notes by the Megapixel, but Some Librarians Object." The Chronicle of Higher Education, December 17, 2004. - "Taking a Byte Out of the Archives: Making Technology Work For You."
Bateman, Birklin; Brennen, Sheila; Mudd, Douglas; and Paula Petrick. "Taking a Byte Out of the Archives: Making Technology Work For You." Perspectives, January 2005. - "The Use of personal scanners and digital cameras within OULS reading rooms." [PDF]
Rose, Steve and Gillian Evison. "The Use of personal scanners and digital cameras within OULS reading rooms." SCONUL Focus, Vol. 38, Summer/Autumn 2006." - "The virtual shoebox for digital photos"
Dated February 2007. - "Zotero: Social and Semantic Computing for Historical Scholarship."
Cohen, Daniel J. "Zotero: Social and Semantic Computing for Historical Scholarship." Perspectives, May 2007.
Discussion Board Threads
Discussion Board Threads regarding the use of digital cameras in archives.
- Looking for suggestions for new archive camera
Dated August 2007, a researcher asks for help deciding on a new camera to use in archives. - Camera Instead of a Scanner
Dated February 2008; someone asking for advice regarding cameras in archives - Advice on digital cameras for archive research
Dated 2007; Economic History Services discussion board
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link





Loading content... please wait