Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Marketing Research  Tags: business_and_economics marketing_research marketing demographics  

This web page has been created for Business Administration 322 and 529
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/bel_marketresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Market Share/Brand Information             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

The Business & Economics Library Staff can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail BEL@library.illinois.edu.

 

BEL Homepage

BEL Homepage

Home

About Us

Key Databases

ABI/Inform

EBSCO BSC

EIU

Lexis Nexis

MarketLine

Mergent

OneSource

Small Business Resource Center

WDI Online

U of I Library

Library Gateway

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources

E-Reference

Interlibrary Loan

 
 

Advertising Age Dataplace

http://adage.com/datacenter/

Articles, news, and statistics for the marketing and advertising industry. Includes special reports such as Annual Agency Report and Annual Salary Survey.

Business Rankings Annual

Compiled from a variety of published sources, this annual publication provides "top ten" rankings of companies, products, services, and business-related activities, including "top companies in a certain industry," for both US and international markets.

Recent editions available online.

Older editions available in print at BEL Reserves (338.740973 B964).

 

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands

Print
Q.658.8343 En19
Communications Library Reference

Covers short histories of leading brands (including consumable products, personal products and durable goods) in the US, including the origin, marketing and advertising strategies of these brands, as well as further readings.

 

Export.gov/U.S. Commercial Service--Market Research Library

http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no

Requires free registration. "Containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by...specialists working in overseas posts. ...Includes: Country Commercial Guides; Industry Overviews; Market Updates; Multilateral Development Bank Reports; Best Markets; and Industry/Regional Reports."

 

IBISWorld

http://www.ibisworld.com.proxy2.library.uiuc.edu/launch.aspx

Contains market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. Also contains industry risk ratings, global industry research, and company research on over 8,000 U.S. public companies.

 

Marketline

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258537

Provides "business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies." Products include: industry profiles offering standardized market data and competitive analysis, company profiles for 50,000 public and private companies giving detailed insight into how companies are organized and function, country profiles, Base Drivers Database featuring key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics for 215 countries and live feed of news, comment and analysis to keep you fully up-to-date with all the latest business developments.

The Tools and Databases section (upper right corner) has a link to Value Consumer Markets. Retrieve data on Market Value, Market Volume, Company (Market) Share and Distribution (Channels) for beverages, food, household products, news and magazines, personal care, pet care, and tobacco, for multiple countries, from 1999 to 2011 (as of February 28, 2008).

Market Share Reporter

Presents comparative business statistics.  Each entry features data and market description, a list of producers or products along with their respective market share, and cites original sources.

Recent editions are available online.

Older editions are available in print at BEL Reserves (380.105 M342).

 

Mintel

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=247372

Provides consumer market reports including information on consumer trends and recent market developments. Also provides current news articles on related market activity.

 

Passport Reference and Markets (formerly Global Market Information Database/ GMID)

UIUC Online Research Resources

http://www.library.uiuc.edu/orr/get.php?instid=258366

Contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts to the year 2010. GMID also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.

To locate statistics, look under Search Industries (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the green toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.


Database Help:

http://www2.gmid.euromonitor.com/PDFs/GettingStartedGMIDv3.pdf

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBusiness and Economics Library
Contact Info:
101 Main Library
ph: 333-3619
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Economics

 

Hours

 

Fall Semester 2009
August 24 - December 18

Mon - Thur 8:30am - 9:00pm
Fri
8:30am - 5:00pm

Sat  Closed

Sun 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Holidays (closed)

Monday, Sept 7
Sunday  Nov 22

Thur - Fri Nov 25-26


 



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait