Using Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested Keywords
body image
centering (Psychology)
ego-ideal
self-hate
self-doubt
Try different combinations of these keywords as you search for information.
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases.
Recommended Article Databases
DISCIPLINE SPECIFIC Databases
(focus on a specific discipline or collection of related disciplines)
- PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES (CSA) - Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects.
- SocINDEX - Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies.
- Black Studies Center - A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays,
recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Oxford African American Studies Center - A comprehensive research resource for African American Studies. This database provides results in the form of scholarly biographical essaya, primary source documents, images, maps, chart and tables,and much more. Researchers can also search by broad subject areas or use the timelines feature.
- Ethnic NewsWatch - Identifies full text access for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
GENERAL INTEREST Databases (covers a variety of subjects/topics)
- Expanded Academic (INFOTRAC) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
A few recommended JOURNALS:
- Journal of Black Psychology -- Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development -- Journal of Black Studies -- Journal of African American History -- The Black scholar -- The Journal of Negro education --
Subject Specialist/Librarian |
Description
Loading content... please wait










Loading content... please wait