General Reference Tools
- Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Call Number: PN2035 C363
Information on theatre past and present in all parts of the world. - Dramatists Guild Resource Directory
Call Number: 792.029573 D79d1 Ready Reference - Literature Resource Center
Identifies biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. - Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Call Number: PN2220 B672004
Covers the American stage from its beginnings to present; includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, and dramatic movements.
Biographies
Please not that the links to the catalog records are currently not working. 8/18/09
- American Actors and Actresses - Stephen M. Archer
Call Number: PN2285 A73A4
Lists and describes major published sources of information about American actors from the beginning of American professional theatre to 1983. - American and British Theatrical Biography - J.P Wearing
Call Number: PN2285 W43A4
Directory for locating biographical information about historical figures in American and British theatre. - Contemporary Dramatists - Ed. K. A. Berney.
Call Number: PN1721 C6681999
Provides brief biographical and bibliographic information for dramatists, as well as contact information when available. - Dictionary of Literary Biography (via InfoTrac)
Call Number: Online Resource
Information about playwrights and bibliographies for further reading. - Notable Names in the American Theatre - Ed. W. Rigdon
Call Number: PN2285 N683
Excellent source for information about people who were famous before 1976. - Stage Deaths: A Biographical Guide to International Theatrical Obituaries, 1850-1990 - George B. Bryan
Call Number: PN2205 S734
2-volume comprehensive elist of theatrical figures' birth/death dates, and where their obituaries were published. - Stage Lives: A Bibliography and Index of Theatrical Biographies in English - George B. Bryan
Call Number: Z5781 S734
Lists and describes published biographies and autobiographies about notable figures in world theatre from the beginnings to 1985. - Variety Obituaries, 1905-1994
Call Number: Q. 790.20922 V4272 (English Library)
15-volumes. Reprints of obituaries published in the entertainment trade journal Variety, arranged chronologically with indexes. (Vol. 11 is the index to all previous volumes, and subsequent volumes have their own indexes). - Who's Who in the Theatre - Ed. Ian Herbert
Call Number: PN2012 W467
Biographies of notable figures in American and British theatre. - Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976
Call Number: PN2597 W469
4 Volume biographical dictionary of actors, actresses, cirectors, playwrights and producers of the English-speaking theatre.
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganContact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait