Print Playscripts
The following print tools can help locate playscripts.
- Index to Plays in Periodicals - Dean H. Keller
Call Number: Z5781 K45
Provides citations to plays published in periodicals from the early 20th century through 1987. Also see Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections below. - Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Between 1900 and 1985 - John H.Ottemiller
Call Number: 016.8082 OT8I1988 (English Library)
Provides citations to plays published in collections from the early 20th century through 1985. Provides separate author and title indexes. - Play Index (online and print)
Call Number: Z5781 P539
Multi-volume work which indexes plays by author, title, and subject. It also includes a cast analysis index, which allows the user to locate plays by type of cast and number of players. Each volume covers a particular date range. See also Index to Plays in Periodicals above.
Online Playscripts
Below are several online tools that are also helpful.
- Asian American Drama
Documents the Asian American experience, from its beginnings to contemporary playwrights, together with associated material such as playbills. - Black Drama

Contains full text of 908 plays written from the mid-1800's to the present by 171 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Carribean, and other African diaspora countries. - Database of Nineteenth-Century English Plays

The Rare Book and Manuscript Library at UIUC has 1,505 English plays and promptbooks published, for the most part, during the nineteenth century (actual publication dates range from 1780-1905). - English Drama A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
- English Prose Drama Database
Contains the full text of more than 1600 works written by more than 350 different authors. The database includes plays, masques, entertainments, and certain closet dramas. - English Verse Drama Database
Contains the full text of more than 2,000 works by nearly 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. - Inter-Play
An online index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals. These call numbers do not match those in the UIUC libraries.
Subject Guide |
Kirstin DouganContact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait