Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Theatre Research Resources  Tags: theatre  

A guide to help students researching topics in theatre.
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://uiuc.libguides.com/theatre  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dissertations & Theses             Print Page
  
 

Searching for Theses & Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts (via Proquest's Digital Dissertations)

Citations (1861-present), abstracts (1980-present), and full-text (1997-present) for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian universities, as well as selected British and European universities. Selected masters theses are also included. Most dissertations submitted from 1997 forward are available for free full-text download in pdf format.

If a dissertation is not available for download, the Interlibrary Loan office can help you in acquiring a copy.

Theses Canada Portal

Theses Canada Portal provides a searchable catalog of all Canadian thesis published since 1965, many of which are available in full text electronic versions which can be downloaded free by students, scholars, and the public.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

A collection of over 200,000 theses and dissertations from around the world. Many items, including those dating back to the early 1900s, are available in full text for free. For those not available in full text, fill out a standard interlibrary loan request.

 

Obtaining Dissertations & Theses

UIUC Online Catalog

The UIUC Library should have at least one copy of all theses and dissertations granted at UIUC. The UIUC Library may also have selected theses and dissertations from other institutions, so the online catalog is a good place to look first. Copies of dissertations deposited at UIUC from 1978 to the present are accessible by author and title through the I-Share Catalog. Beginning with 1983, archival copies can also be searched by department and year. 

Interlibrary Loan

UIUC's Interlibrary Loan Office can help you obtain theses and dissertations not owned by the UIUC and not available in pdf format through Dissertation Abstracts. They provide 2 options:

  1. Place a standard online ILL request using the "Request a Book" form. If they can't find a free copy, they will email you and give you the option of placing an order through the Dissertation Express service (via the Interlibrary Loan Office), described immediately below.
  2. Dissertation Express (via the Interlibrary Loan Office) is a fee-based service that obtains dissertations in 4-5 business days. The Library will pay for the item, but you are responsible for a $15 shipping charge. For more information on this service, see the Interlibrary Loan Office's Dissertation Express FAQ entry.

Dissertation Express (direct via ProQuest)

If you quickly need a print copy of a dissertation that is not available for download and don't mind paying the full cost yourself, you can order it directly from Proquest's Dissertation Express as an individual. Otherwise, use one of the Interlibrary loan options described above.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKirstin Dougan


Contact Info:
Music and Performing Arts Library
2146E Music Building
217.244.4072
Send Email

Subjects:
Music, Dance, Theatre

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait